1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What's wrong with this website

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by pxgfx, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. #1
    I'm in the process of "learning" again (after many years of not coding) .........
    SEMrush
    I recently got an unexpected promotion (more like change of role actually) that will allow me to code again. My boss mentioned about getting someone with more experience than me to help me get started, but I'll be tackling projects mostly on my own eventually after a while. Please point me to the right direction:

    http://string99.xyz/

    TIA!!
     
    Solved! View solution.
    pxgfx, Jul 8, 2019 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #2
    Here is a list of links that may help you:

    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/should-i-still-use-jquery-with-html5-in-2019.2857316/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/how-to-write-good-html-css-with-webflow.2857352/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/thr...instead-of-learning-to-code-manually.2857358/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/thr...css-by-hand-in-a-text-editor-in-2019.2857372/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/why-so-much-hatred-toward-html-css-noobs.2857373/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/html5-semantic-tags-fail.2857688/
    https://forums.digitalpoint.com/thr...-css-approach-sucks-what-should-i-do.2857770/

    Basically, they are all started by the same person wanting to learn the best way to design websites. They show the evolution of his thoughts starting from knowing nothing about web design until today. He started each of these threads in the order listed above and is in an on-going learning curve.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 8, 2019 IP
  3. pxgfx

    pxgfx Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #3
    Thanks @mmerlinn (!)

    To say that @deathshadow 's posts are "longer than usual" would be an understatement ... I say who needs treehouse when this very forum offers so much more!!

    Are you still actively coding?
     
    pxgfx, Jul 9, 2019 IP
  4. #4
    Wow, I recognize that style. Semantics, good practices, wonder where that came from... Not much I'd change apart from getting rid of the orange douche, but that's placeholder content, not actual content.

    Legible colour contrasts, legibile font-face, not enough menu items to waste code throwing a hamburger menu at (yet)...

    Oh, that final span... that should probably be a P since it's a grammatical sentence containing a complete thought. That P should likely contain an EM wrapping the text to provide grammatical emphasis.

    ... and I quote:

    <i>GURPS,</i> <b>Steve Jackson Games'</b> flagship role-playing game, was first released in 1985. Several licensed adaptations of other companies' games exist for the system, such as <i>GURPS Bunnies and Burrows.</i> However, <b>SJ Games</b> has no connection with <b>Wizards of the Coast</b>, producers of the <i>Dungeons and Dragons</i> RPG. <em>No <i>GURPS</i> content is open-source.</em> <strong>Do not plagiarize <b>SJ Games</b> work!</strong>

    <I>talic for a book/product that is not being <cite>d, <b>old for legal entity names, <em>phasis for when text is important, <strong> for when it has "more emphasis".

    That's what the five tags MEAN, and when writing semantic markup, meaning is the entire point. Hence why the people who say "B and I are deprecated" are talking out their arse, and those who say "never use B and I" are even more full of manure. When I say:

    I read <i>Moby Dick</i> last night.
    Code (markup):
    I am NOT emphasizing the book title. Nor did I cite it.

    As he said in <cite>Moby Dick</cite>, <q>He tasks me.</q>
    Code (markup):
    <strong>THAT</strong> is citing it.
     
    deathshadow, Jul 9, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  5. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #5
    I am still actively coding, however all coding I have ever done has been inhouse. All of my coding for the last decade or so has been using FoxPro. I use FP to build ALL of my web pages including HTML, JS, and CSS. I do not build web pages directly. And since it is quite a pain to reprogram FP to modernize my HTML code, I am still stuck back in the 90's. Really don't care since my customers don't care.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 9, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  6. pxgfx

    pxgfx Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #6
    Thanks @deathshadow (!)

    I hope you'd publish more tuts, articles and RANTS at https://cutcodedown.com/ but I know how buzy you are ...........

    I'm thinking what to use for backend. What's your go to stack? You use PHP and MySQL, right? Have you tried NodeJS?

    WOW!! I had to check what that is and sure enough version 1.0 is actually older than me!!
     
    pxgfx, Jul 11, 2019 IP
  7. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #7
    No clue what you mean by 'version 1.0' as nothing I use is of that vintage.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 12, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  8. deathshadow

    deathshadow Acclaimed Member

    Messages:
    8,976
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    Best Answers:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    515
    #8
    I think he was just saying. A lot of people cannot conceive of the idea of software being "that old" -- even if Word 1.0 for DOS was in 1983. People still use Word today, but if you tell them that the product line is that old, their eyes bulge out of their heads.

    Kind of like how my go-to for office suites is Office 97. People go "WHAT?!?" when I say that, but IMHO it was the last version worth a damn. That magically they've improved compatibility in Win10 to the point it runs flawlessly even compared to 7? Nice. Newer office suites have features I don't use, interface changes that just get in the damned way or suck down screen space for nothing of value (ribbon much?), etc, etc. They can take that bloated, slow, "i can outrun the bloody keyboard" BS that is "365" and shove it up their bung! Because what office software needs to do is behave like a MMO. What's next, lootboxes?
     
    deathshadow, Jul 12, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  9. pxgfx

    pxgfx Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #9
    pxgfx, Jul 12, 2019 IP
  10. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #10
    Yup, that is FP. However, I don't have the Microshit DOS or Windows versions. Based on what I know of them they are a pain to program without potentially opening major security holes because of all of the helper libraries (DLLs) they are using. I use the Mac versions which are self-contained and do not need helper libraries.

    The downside to the Mac versions is that I MUST use 25-year-old computers because neither Apple nor Microshit provided any upgrade path to work on newer computers. No one else has found a way either and now it is likely that no one ever will.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 13, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  11. deathshadow

    deathshadow Acclaimed Member

    Messages:
    8,976
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    Best Answers:
    233
    Trophy Points:
    515
    #11
    http://www.vmac.org/
    https://basilisk.cebix.net/
    https://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/executor
    http://www.emulators.com/softmac.htm

    Executor though old is actually the fastest of them, and is nice as you don't need a Mac ROM image to run it. Softmac is a great choice if you need to spend a lot of time copying between the host OS and the emulation... and on a modern computer even emulated runs circles around the most powerful System 9 "period correct" machines.

    Just saying. I actually deploy DOSBox for some people so they can keep using my Paradox 4.5 for DOS double-entry accounting system, "MortisFunds".

    Side note, really wish one of these classic Mac emulators supported joysticks. The Mac version of CYAC blows the crap out of the DOS/VGA version, and my Mac SE is too old for it.
     
    deathshadow, Jul 13, 2019 IP
    mmerlinn and pxgfx like this.
  12. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #12
    I am using 3 different Power Mac G4 desktops with FP. The one here, the slowest, is running MacOS 9.2.2 with a MacOS ROM 9.6.1 at 933MHz. The only time I notice the speed is when building/deploying web pages and occasionally when searching. Even at that FP can generate and deploy over 1000 web pages per hour on a dialup modem. I have not used dialup now for 3 years so I assume that my deployment time is faster on cable, but have not timed it.

    Supposedly MacOS 9.2.2 cannot run on my machines but Apple did make the obscure ROM 9.6.1 for the education market. Took me a while to find an original copy of it and once installed I can use any G4 so long as that G4 does not have FireWire ports. Cannot use any Mac after the G4.

    My other two FP enabled Macs also run Leopard when I boot the Leopard partition, but since Leopard is an Intel type program, FP will not run on it.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 13, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  13. pxgfx

    pxgfx Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #13
    And here I just have a Win10 laptop ... is all I need for what I do I feel like. I haven't really owned a Mac until now. I used an iPhone out of curiosity ... switched back to android before I lose my sanity!! It's like the dumbest tech piece I've used ...........
     
    pxgfx, Jul 14, 2019 IP
  14. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,267
    Likes Received:
    3,442
    Best Answers:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #14
    I was using autocad on a dos computer back in '88. In the UK I was mostly working on unix boxes and returned home to NZ just before windows 95 was launched. Had to upgrade a "Great Elk" install on 95 at Microsoft so got to see it before my colleagues. Great Elk was, in those days, written on Fox Pro. It was leagues ahead of tools like Act! and instrumental in bringing some big companies into the era of CRM. So, yeah, my kids are adults but Autocad, foxpro, word, excel, and word perfect are all older than them.
     
    sarahk, Jul 14, 2019 IP
    pxgfx likes this.
  15. mmerlinn

    mmerlinn Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,262
    Likes Received:
    286
    Best Answers:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #15
    Dang, you popped my bubble! And here I thought you were still a pony-tailed teenybopper.
     
    mmerlinn, Jul 14, 2019 IP
    pxgfx and sarahk like this.
  16. pxgfx

    pxgfx Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    50
    #16
    Updated with mobile menu (non-hamburger). Please review the CSS too, (pretty) pls?!

    LINK: http://string99.xyz/

    Has anyone used SANDBOXIE here? It used to be free ... tried it once before. I'm looking for the best possible solution for installing multiple browsers (older IE's and FF's mainly) in Win10. Anyone?

    TIA!
     
    pxgfx, Jul 19, 2019 IP