1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

New ASP Version

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by Zinho, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. LiGhTen

    LiGhTen Peon

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #41
    I am using this ver can someone tell me if its a good one because i been using it for quite a while now dont think it gaves me any problems
    <%
    dim ad_params

    Function ad_network()

    dim ad_type, ad_url, ad_file, AllLinks, NewTextLinks, objTextStreamR, objTextStreamW, newlink, spParam, LinksDate, i, NewTextLink, attempt, r, j

    on error resume next

    Randomize()

    Const root_path="\" 'the (writable) path to ad_network_ads.txt

    ad_type = "link" '"link" for text link | "text" for text banner | "" (empty) for graphical banner
    ad_url = "http://ads.digitalpoint.com/network.php?b=" & Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_NAME") & "&type=" & ad_type
    ad_file = "C:\ads\ad_network_ads.txt" 'it must be a path with write privileges

    Set objFSO = Server.CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    Set objTextStreamR = objFSO.OpenTextFile(ad_file,1,true)

    If objTextStreamR.AtEndOfStream Then
    'First Creation of cache file (5 ads)
    NewTextLinks = GetNewLink(ad_url)
    if NewTextLinks <> "" then NewTextLinks = "<ad_break>" & NewTextLinks

    Application.Lock 'prevents other processes from changing file while writing
    set fso = server.createobject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    set stream = fso.opentextfile(ad_file,2,true)
    stream.write ad_params & NewTextLinks
    stream.close
    set fso=nothing
    Application.UnLock

    spParam = split(ad_params,"|",-1,vbTextCompare)
    if Request.ServerVariables("REMOTE_ADDR") = spParam(1) or Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_ADDR") = Request.ServerVariables("REMOTE_ADDR") then
    NewTextLinks = Replace(NewTextLinks,""" />",""" class=""" & spParam(2) & """ />")
    end if
    displayAds = split(NewTextLinks,"<ad_break>")
    redim preserve displayAds(4)
    Else
    AllLinks = split(objTextStreamR.ReadAll,"<ad_break>")
    if instr(1,AllLinks(0),"|",vbTextCompare) = 0 then
    newlink = GetNewLink(ad_url)
    spParam = split(ad_params,"|",-1,vbTextCompare)
    spParam(0) = AllLinks(0)
    AllLinks(0) = ad_params
    else
    spParam = split(AllLinks(0),"|",-1,vbTextCompare)
    end if
    if IsDate(spParam(0)) then
    LinksDate = cdate(spParam(0))
    else
    LinksDate = Now()
    end if

    If (UBound(AllLinks) <= spParam(3) + 1 and clng(datediff("s",LinksDate,now())) > clng(spParam(5))) or clng(datediff("s",LinksDate,now())) > clng(spParam(4)) Then
    NewTextLink = GetNewLink(ad_url)
    if NewTextLink <> "" then
    redim preserve AllLinks(UBound(AllLinks) + 1)
    AllLinks(0) = ad_params
    AllLinks(ubound(AllLinks)) = NewTextLink
    end if

    If ubound(AllLinks) > spParam(3) then
    for i = 1 to spParam(3)
    AllLinks(i) = AllLinks(i + 1)
    next
    redim preserve AllLinks(spParam(3))
    End If

    AllLinks(0) = Now() & mid(AllLinks(0),instr(1,AllLinks(0),"|",vbTextCompare))

    data = ""
    For i = 0 to UBound(AllLinks)
    data = data & AllLinks(i)
    if i < UBound(AllLinks) then data = data & "<ad_break>"
    Next

    Application.Lock 'prevents other processes from changing file while writing
    set fso = server.createobject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
    set stream = fso.opentextfile(ad_file,2,true)
    stream.write data
    stream.close
    set fso=nothing
    Application.UnLock

    End If

    'get 5 random non-duplicate ads
    i = 0
    do while i < 5 and i < UBound(AllLinks)
    redim preserve displayAds(i)
    attempt = 0

    r = int(Rnd() * (UBound(AllLinks)) + 1)
    for j = 0 to i - 1
    if displayAds(j) = AllLinks(r) then
    AllLinks(r) = ""
    exit for
    end if
    next
    do while attempt < 100 and AllLinks(r) = ""
    r = int(Rnd() * (UBound(AllLinks)) + 1)
    for j = 0 to i - 1
    if displayAds(j) = AllLinks(r) then
    AllLinks(r) = ""
    exit for
    end if
    next
    attempt = attempt + 1
    loop
    if Request.ServerVariables("REMOTE_ADDR") = spParam(1) or Request.ServerVariables("SERVER_ADDR") = Request.ServerVariables("REMOTE_ADDR") then
    displayAds(i) = Replace(AllLinks(r),""" />",""" class=""" & spParam(2) & """ />")
    else
    displayAds(i) = AllLinks(r)
    end if

    i = i + 1
    loop
    End If

    redim preserve displayAds(4)

    ad_network = displayAds

    end function

    '-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Private Function GetHTTPText(File)

    if Application("LastCommsAttempt") = "" then
    Application("LastCommsAttempt") = now
    else
    if datediff("s",Application("LastCommsAttempt"),now()) > 4 then
    Application("LastCommsAttempt") = now
    else
    exit function
    end if
    end if
    Dim wHTTP
    Set wHTTP = server.CreateObject("WinHttp.WinHttpRequest.5.1")
    whttp.settimeouts 2000,30000,30000,30000
    wHTTP.Open "GET", File, false
    wHTTP.Send
    If wHTTP.WaitForResponse(5) = True Then
    GetHTTPText = wHTTP.ResponseText
    End If
    Set wHTTP=nothing

    end function

    '-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Private Function GetNewLink(File)

    dim ht, spLink
    ht = GetHTTPText(File)
    if ht <> "" then
    if instr(1,ht,"<ad_param>",vbTextCompare) > 0 then
    spLink = split(ht,"<ad_param>",-1,vbTextCompare)
    ad_params = now() & "|216.9.35.51|" & spLink(0)
    GetNewLink = spLink(1)
    else
    Application("LastCommsAttempt") = dateadd("s",100,now)
    ad_params = now() & "|216.9.35.51|abcdefgh|400|900|4"
    end if
    else
    if datediff("s",Application("LastCommsAttempt"),now()) > 5 then
    Application("LastCommsAttempt") = dateadd("s",100,now)
    end if
    ad_params = now() & "|216.9.35.51|abcdefgh|400|900|4"
    end if

    end function

    ads=ad_network
    response.write ads(0) & " "
    response.write ads(1) & " "
    response.write ads(2) & " "
    response.write ads(3) & " "
    response.write ads(4) & " "
    %>
     
    LiGhTen, Apr 29, 2005 IP
  2. LaCabra

    LaCabra Goats R Us

    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    241
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #42
    Ok, looks like the script is hanging the server now. My hosting company said that there seems to be a call to the adserver but nothing is coming back. I'm getting the following error using perrow's script.

    VBscript runtime error '800a0009'
    Subscript out of Range: '[number: 1]'
    /includes/ad_network/ad_network.asp, line 105

    Does anyone have any ideas? Shawn can you verify that www.leatherpages.com is not blocked.

    thanks
    Frank
     
    LaCabra, Apr 29, 2005 IP
  3. LiGhTen

    LiGhTen Peon

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #43
    I get the following error using your script


    ===========
    msxml3.dll error '800c0005'

    The system cannot locate the resource specified.

    /test5.asp, line 154
    ===========

    Any idea why?
     
    LiGhTen, Apr 30, 2005 IP
  4. michail1

    michail1 Peon

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #44
    I have 2 ideas.
    When I use it with a firewall or with ISA (Internet Security and Acceleration server - basically a firewall), I get the same thing.

    I have 3 servers setup. Identical except for ISA (internal and external). Both of them have the same problem. When I removed ISA, it worked. Read a lot about it to find many people with firewalls were also having that problem.

    Strange, my unix box with unix firewall doesn't have the problem.
     
    michail1, Apr 30, 2005 IP
  5. flyered

    flyered Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #45
    Problem solved. Pretty dumb actually.. I did not see this toggle in the ad_network.asp file:

    ad_network = displayAds 'Print yourself
    'Response.Write printAds 'Print all at once

    I was using 'Print all at once', however I was calling the ads with:

    %ad = ad_network%>
    <%=ads(0)%> - <%=ads(1)%><br>
    <%=ads(2)%> - <%=ads(3)%> - <%=ads(4)%>

    You gotta use 'Print Yourself' if you are spitting out individual ads.

    Here's hoping this hopes someone else avoid this stupido mistake. :)
     
    flyered, May 1, 2005 IP
  6. TemplatesNew

    TemplatesNew Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #46
    It don't work! Please update code!
     
    TemplatesNew, May 4, 2005 IP
  7. michail1

    michail1 Peon

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #47
    It works perfect. No need to update.
     
    michail1, May 4, 2005 IP
  8. Perrow

    Perrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,306
    Likes Received:
    78
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #48
    Hi, all again

    As I got a private message asking what asp-version to use I will post the version I currently have working on my site. I think this is the same as the one in post #21 but I'm not completely sure. If you have the #21 version working there'll be no need to update though.

    This version should be equivalent to the php 2.13 version. Make sure that you have no .txt file with the file name that this version uses in the directory it installs to.
     

    Attached Files:

    Perrow, May 12, 2005 IP
  9. wrkalot

    wrkalot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #49
    It's writing the same ad to the text file every time. So I end up with 5 of the same ad being displayed. Any thoughts?
     
    wrkalot, Jun 17, 2005 IP
  10. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #50
    That's the same thing I'm getting. The same add over and over with the code posted in #48 :(
     
    mopacfan, Jun 27, 2005 IP
  11. wrkalot

    wrkalot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #51
    I have reverted to an older version and everything is working great now.
     
    wrkalot, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  12. wrkalot

    wrkalot Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #52
    wrkalot, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  13. michail1

    michail1 Peon

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #53
    I am still using the same version from this thread. By perrow on post number #21. Three months on 6 sites without problem.
     
    michail1, Jul 4, 2005 IP
  14. ColumbusOnline

    ColumbusOnline Guest

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #54
    Going back to an older version worked for me for a few weeks but just today it slowed all of my websites down to a 20 second load again. For some reason it seems to do that for a few hours or a day and then start working again. I hope this is the case because I have to take down the ad network off of all my sites when it slows down because I am losing too much traffic because of the slow load time. I finally got smart and have everything on includes, so I can take it down and put it up really quick when it happens, but I wish I knew why it does it and wish someone would find a way to prevent it from happening.
     
    ColumbusOnline, Jul 6, 2005 IP
  15. cyberax

    cyberax Peon

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #55
    Hi Friends,

    I have all ASP based sites.

    If someone can help me understand the functionality of the script (I think PHP guys can better help us) then I can easily do the coding.

    The problem is that I do not know much about PHP else I could have deciphered and converted it to ASP.

    Regards,
     
    cyberax, Jul 12, 2005 IP
  16. michail1

    michail1 Peon

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #56
    Ummm, it's already been converted to ASP for you. There download is in the thread.
    I have many ASP and PHP sites. All work without problem. Your post is number #55. Go to number #21 of this thread and download the ASP version. Works great.
    Michail Wilson
     
    michail1, Jul 12, 2005 IP