1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How can I control table format?

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by SoftLink, Apr 10, 2018.

Hi:
    I'm not a noob. I've been writing html for 20 years.

I'm trying to create a table dynamically and cannot get it to format correctly.

The first row should be a specific height.
    The second row should be a different specific height.
    All remaining rows should be of equal heights to fill up the table.

The same is for the columns.

As soon as I fill it with data the table format is completely trashed.
    I've set tr & td max-width, max-height; I've set width & height properties on the td outside of css; I've set overflow:hidden.

CSS, seemingly randomly, ignores everything I tell it.
    As soon as it sees data (via javascript) it blows the td sizes way out.

Is there any way to control a table's layout without using table-layout: fixed ??
    I'd even use that except that I need the first & second column widths to be different than the rest.
    I thought about using grid but it can't collapse or change.
    The 'grid' has to stay exactly the same size regardless of what goes into it.

SoftLink, Apr 10, 2018 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    can you set up a jsfiddle, it seems like it should be relatively easy especially with css letting us specify child(n) to work with.

sarahk, Apr 10, 2018 IP
  3. deathshadow

deathshadow Acclaimed Member

Best Answers: