1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google.com Whois Hacked

Discussion in 'Google' started by goscript, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. #1
    goscript, Jan 24, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. clancey

    clancey Peon

    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I checked out another domain to make sure this was not some kind of gag.

    While it might be Google's domain that got hacked and that might be funny at some level, it points to a significant security problem with domain registry and name server systems.

    Is there more information about what system was compromised; where it was located; and how this was accomplished?

    It is exceedingly scary to think that there are people who could hijack any domain without any difficulty whatsoever.
     
    clancey, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  3. Cypherus

    Cypherus Peon

    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    102
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    That is fake! The google whois is probally built in..
     
    Cypherus, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  4. Dudibob

    Dudibob Peon

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Google was not hacked, they didn't renew the domain by some way and someone else snatched it. Google said 'we have money and lawers' the someone backed down and gave them back the domain
     
    Dudibob, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  5. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #5
    Nothing has been hacked here. Any idiot could do this.

    If I get bored, I'll blog about it, and tell you how it is done. IT IS NOT A HACK!
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP
    Mong likes this.
  6. lorien1973

    lorien1973 Notable Member

    Messages:
    12,210
    Likes Received:
    603
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    260
    #6
    Amazingly, you'll find the same thing for yahoo

    http://whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=yahoo&tld=com

    Believing that "google.com" whois got hacked just shows that you don't really know what a domain name is, as opposed to a subdomain :)
     
    lorien1973, Jan 24, 2007 IP
    Mong likes this.
  7. echo_unlimited

    echo_unlimited Notable Member

    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    240
    #7
    I highly doubt that Google didn't renew their own domain name. But I've never seen this before, so you'd have to ask who or where ever the information for whois is located. ;)
     
    echo_unlimited, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  8. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #8
    The first time I did this was in 1998. I did it to rosie.com. It said something like, rosie.com.is.a.big.phat.ass.slob.mia.net

    It's pretty easy to do, and amused me for about 5 minutes one day about 9 years ago. I was bored.
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP
    vagrant likes this.
  9. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #9
    If you get bored, you too can own yahoo too! It's more fun to own Apple though. How its done.
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  10. dreamsubmitting

    dreamsubmitting Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #10
    I dont get any thing like that check here
     
    dreamsubmitting, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  11. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #11
    Use a terminal program or shell and query the whois directly instead of using some hokey whois script web page.
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  12. kh7

    kh7 Peon

    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    109
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    google.de did change hands for a few hours this week. Google has it back now though.
     
    kh7, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  13. goscript

    goscript Prominent Member

    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    306
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    315
    #13
    You probably think that this would be imposible. Maybie this is a whois.net script bug.. but i remember times when even nasa websites realy got "hacked" and showed on cnn. So.. everything is hackable.
     
    goscript, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  14. sukantab

    sukantab Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #14
    No, this is because they blocked their actual information with private reg etc.
    Also try other sites like paypal, ebay, yahoo you will get similar results.
     
    sukantab, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  15. lorien1973

    lorien1973 Notable Member

    Messages:
    12,210
    Likes Received:
    603
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    260
    #15
    this isn't a website, its a whois record.
     
    lorien1973, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  16. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #16
    It is not a bug. It is not a hack. Read my BLOG!!!

    I sometimes wonder if anyone actually reads threads from the beginning anymore. Give me your domain name, and I will do exactly the same. It is not a bug, not a hack, no one has been own3d.

    Someone just created a DNS Server Whois record which is bogus! It's easy.
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  17. Icheb

    Icheb Peon

    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. giovanni

    giovanni Peon

    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    33
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    giovanni, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  19. Evolv5

    Evolv5 Peon

    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Thanks for the tutorial Mia...I still don't get it :p or NameCheap / GoDaddy are being lame.
     
    Evolv5, Jan 24, 2007 IP
  20. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #20
    It's simple. You just create a bogus name server. It will then show up in the whois.
     
    Mia, Jan 24, 2007 IP