1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Does vBulletin need SEO mods?

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by brandondrury, Oct 27, 2005.

I'm brand new to vBulletin and I was wondering if you guys thought that SEO mods are necessary. It seams like there are logical things you could do such mod_rewrite that could improve the search engines ability to spider the forum.

What do you guys think?

Brandon

brandondrury, Oct 27, 2005 IP
  2. GuyFromChicago

GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

Best Answers:
    No, it really doesn't need any SEO mods to get indexed.

GuyFromChicago, Oct 27, 2005 IP
    joeychgo, SEbasic and noppid like this.
  3. SEbasic

SEbasic Peon

Best Answers:
    I (personally) think the SEO mods do more harm than good - All the ones I've used end up producing duplicate pages on different URLs - that's not good...

This is just MHO, but vB works well out of the box for most peoples needs.

SEbasic, Oct 27, 2005 IP
    GuyFromChicago and joeychgo like this.
  4. Voasi

Voasi Active Member

Best Answers:
    Using clean URLs will help your site get indexed. VB out-of-the-box doesn't have clean URLs. Further, you can't get keywords into the URLs with it outta box.

If you want to have a nice SEO forum using VB, try www.vbseo.com .

Voasi, Oct 27, 2005 IP
  5. GuyFromChicago

Best Answers:
    No it doesn't. There have been numerous thread on this same subject - "stock" vBulletin threads are indexed just fine.

DP (this forum) is a great example.

joeychgo likes this.
  6. digitalpoint

digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

Best Answers:
    Digital Goods:
    What do you mean clean URLs? You can't get much cleaner than the default URLs vBulletin uses.

digitalpoint, Oct 27, 2005 IP