1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Yahoo Webrank?

Discussion in 'Yahoo' started by msaad, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. #1
    Hi,
    I just noticed this tool on the digitalpoint site for getting the webrank. I wonder...
    1. There is no webrank in the Yahoo Toolbar. Where is this tool getting the values from?
    2. How is this rank calculated? The tool found my rank to be 0! (My Google PR is 5)
    SEMrush
    Thanks in advance..
     
    msaad, Aug 30, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    digitalpoint, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  3. msaad

    msaad Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Thanks shawn :)
    But, why is my site having a webrank of 0? Does it mean its webrank is not calculated yet? Or that i am actually a zero?
     
    msaad, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #4
    No idea how it works, you would want to contact Yahoo for that.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  5. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I think its a non-factor at this point.
     
    schlottke, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  6. msaad

    msaad Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Thanks. That's a relief. It would be horrible if i am actually a zero with all the links i currently have! :)

    So, What is your guess? is it just another name for Page Rank? Same calculations, different name? Or is it sthg totally new?

    I checked some popular sites, and their webrank is exactly equal to their current PR!

    these Yahoo people have no imagination at all! They have copied the scale from 1 to 10 as it is! They could have made it a percentage, or whatever, but no!! just steal the same idea!
     
    msaad, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  7. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    It isn't the same as PR - thats for certain. A scale of 1 to 10 is pretty common, I'd have to say. It doesn't really matter right now I dont think, but it may.
     
    schlottke, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  8. piniyini

    piniyini Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #8
    I've noticed that its similar to pagerank, it's usually the same or 1 less than the rank assigned by google.

    Does it have an effect on the yahoo serps as much as pagerank has in google? I dont think so ...
     
    piniyini, Aug 30, 2004 IP
  9. nadlay

    nadlay Guest

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I read somewhere that Yahoo Webrank had been abandonded by Yahoo, and that they have done no work on it for quite some time.
     
    nadlay, Aug 31, 2004 IP
  10. tivnet

    tivnet Peon

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I noticed that URLs starting with http:// give 0 rank.

    The tool removes http:// - but apparently AFTER it's been sent to Yahoo.

    Besides, the results are not related to the real situation.
    I have a site that Yahoo does not know about (says no pages) - but WebRank says it's 5!

    Could it be that WebRank was from FAST engine - but now Yahoo uses Inktomi, and that's why it's abandoned?
     
    tivnet, Sep 1, 2004 IP
  11. msaad

    msaad Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Yahoo doesn't use Inktomi anymore. They have their own engine now! :)
     
    msaad, Sep 3, 2004 IP
  12. tivnet

    tivnet Peon

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    tivnet, Sep 3, 2004 IP
  13. vlead

    vlead Peon

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I also a webrank of 0 for my website but I do not think it makes any difference in the SERPs on Yahoo! Someone told me that it was abandoned quite a while ago.
     
    vlead, Sep 4, 2004 IP