1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Yahoo Search Using Google Again?

Discussion in 'Yahoo' started by digitalpoint, Jun 25, 2004.

  1. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #21
    Well, if he wants to, he can... but for me, it's really not an important issue. I would be perfectly at ease if I never knew why Yahoo was serving Google results. Knowing why ultimately does not affect my life, and I have more important things to think about.
    SEMrush
    Now if it was the other way around, and Google started serving Yahoo results, then I would worry about it, since Google gives more relevant/better results than Yahoo for things I search on.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 26, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    Shawn, you started the thread on your forum, so yes I think you should email him and ask him to comment.

    It is important for the members to know :eek:
     
    anthonycea, Jun 26, 2004 IP
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #23
    Do you really think he knows why?
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 26, 2004 IP
  4. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    He may have some contact with Yahoo on the issue, he had very strong views on it in the threads at SEO, go look at those threads. :)
     
    anthonycea, Jun 26, 2004 IP
  5. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #25
    I wonder why they are serving the same ads and I wonder how many people are seeing this because Ive seen an increase in searches that yahoo didn';t have me for before.
     
    schlottke, Jun 26, 2004 IP
  6. Joel Naten

    Joel Naten Guest

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #26
    I imagine it will take sometime for Yahoo to be completely on its own, but it is definitely a step they need to take. Becoming very dependent on your competitor is dangerous. Yahoo draws a ton of traffic, and they can use that to their advantage over Google. Also, the search wars are far from over. It turns out that AskJeeves is actually gaining more of an audience. Any search engine that delivers better results will gain popularity, just a Google did in the beginning.
     
    Joel Naten, Jun 27, 2004 IP
  7. hurricane_sh

    hurricane_sh Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #27
    Much different for my search, try "vocabulary builder"
     
    hurricane_sh, Jun 30, 2004 IP
  8. uca

    uca Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #28
    I wish Yahoo was using Google's results because I would be ranking higher on Google.
    Instead I'm hi on Yah lower on Goo (and I optimized for Goo!)
    I'm Hi also on MSN but low on the beta version! :mad:
     
    uca, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  9. Smyrl

    Smyrl Tomato Republic Staff

    Messages:
    13,701
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Best Answers:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    510
    #29
    Wow, what I am seeing on Yahoo looks much like what I was seeing on Googles English sites this weekend when they were showing different results. Wonder if those updates could have been in preparation as results for Yahoo?

    Shannon
     
    Smyrl, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  10. reppy

    reppy Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #30
    Heh, I wish. ;)
     
    reppy, Jan 11, 2005 IP
  11. aspcoder

    aspcoder Peon

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #31
    For me, there is a big difference in results of yahoo and google. Yahoo is easy to play with then google.
     
    aspcoder, Jan 11, 2005 IP
  12. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    Smyrl-

    The Yahoo! results are *very* similar to that of those six datacenter from the weekend.
     
    schlottke, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  13. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #33
    Hate to break the old news to you, Yahoo does not use Google results anymore, read the thread again and erase your cookies.
     
    anthonycea, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  14. beginner

    beginner Peon

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #34
    errrr...But the funny thing is...yahoo was on the net earlier than google..and now they r using google's technology.. lol
     
    beginner, Apr 5, 2005 IP
  15. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #35
    Yahoo WAS using Google search results and they were also going to MSN in the past through Yahoo, but no more.

    Google was also using Overture technology so it goes both ways, Google paid Yahoo for the ADWORDS interface software when they settled a lawsuit with Overture which is owned by Yahoo.
     
    anthonycea, Apr 5, 2005 IP