1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Yahoo buys Konfabulator and give it away!

Discussion in 'Yahoo' started by TwisterMc, Jul 25, 2005.

  1. #1
    Yahoo has bought a piece of software called Konfabulator. Konfabulator runs little programs on your desktop and gives you quick access to page rank, weather, email, stocks, traffic and much much more. Yahoo is also giving it away FREE :D
    SEMrush
     
    TwisterMc, Jul 25, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. just-4-teens

    just-4-teens Peon

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    168
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    cool - thanks for the heads up :D
     
    just-4-teens, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  3. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Never heard of it. Looks interesting, but not interesting enough to download.
     
    mopacfan, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  4. Cartman

    Cartman Active Member

    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    88
    #4
    It's an awesome program, I ran it a few months back.. It does eat up a bit of your memory though, depending on how many widgets you're running.
     
    Cartman, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  5. jorge

    jorge Peon

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    i have just download it, it's interesting!
     
    jorge, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  6. www.AmCy.org

    www.AmCy.org American CyberSpace®

    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    60
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #6
    smells like spyware to me.
     
    www.AmCy.org, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  7. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #7
    1. Why buy it, its kinda obsolete now with DashBoard?
    2. I thought it was Mac only, so again, why buy it using the philosophy that there are many more dollars to be made with PC users

    Look, I used Konfabulator and thought it was pretty cool. It was a bit too resource intensive IMHO and so I kicked it to the curb. So when Apple decided to create Konfab, I mean DashBoard, I thought.... Cool, I can get all the neato features of Konfabulator without the processor hogging. However... Dashboard is just as bad if not worse.

    Anyway, why buy it? Unless there is a PC version that is.
     
    Mia, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  8. TopSpin

    TopSpin Peon

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Thomas - I saw that too...Perhaps this will be Dashboard for everyone not lucky enough to be running Tiger?
     
    TopSpin, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  9. Mia

    Mia R.I.P. STEVE JOBS

    Messages:
    23,694
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    440
    #9
    Agreed! Yeah, it is amazing how DB bears a striking resemblance to Konfabulator.

    I guess there is a Windows Version.. Who knew. I'm gonna rush home tonight and get this installed on my new Acer Laptop! Now to figure out how to blast DashBoard off my iBook!
     
    Mia, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  10. Canadianbacon

    Canadianbacon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Articles:
    1
    #10
    i can just see all the yahoo pop ups now
     
    Canadianbacon, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  11. m1ke

    m1ke Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    This is a great little tool. I advise anyone to give it a try if they havn't already.
     
    m1ke, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  12. TwisterMc

    TwisterMc Mac Guru

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    - It's free. No buying involved.
    - For Mac and PC
    - Better than Dashboard cuz it can work in 10.2 and up
    - Better than Dashboard cuz it can sit on the desktop. I'm not a fan of hitting extra buttons to go to a new screen to see my widgets.

    All in all both are quite nice. I just lean a little more towards Konfab because it's right on the desktop. Both are good though. ;)
     
    TwisterMc, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  13. Design Agent

    Design Agent Peon

    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    154
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I use konfab for the PR widget.

    Dashboard not being on the desktop renders it nearly useless for me. I cant be bothered to click wait and find out what i need. It still generally works out quicker to just search.
    why did they do that ?
     
    Design Agent, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  14. TwisterMc

    TwisterMc Mac Guru

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    So it wasn't a complete duplicate of Konfab. ;)
     
    TwisterMc, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  15. soapbath

    soapbath Peon

    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I try and keep my PC running as fast as possible and things like this slow it down, so I won't be getting (I mean I even don't use Wallpapers to same some speed)
     
    soapbath, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  16. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    you run a wallpaper site and dont use them? ;) Which i have to say is probably the best site I have every navigated across! Not even an AD. congrats.
     
    schlottke, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  17. soapbath

    soapbath Peon

    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Thanks alot, but yeah I use them on my other systems, just not the PC I code with.
     
    soapbath, Aug 1, 2005 IP
  18. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    A Yahoo product showing PR?

    I wonder why they aren't showing YahooRank ;) :D
     
    SEbasic, Aug 1, 2005 IP
  19. soapbath

    soapbath Peon

    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    45
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Over the next week or so im sure you will see them changes, at the moment the software does not even say anything about Yahoo (Even in licance), they will start changing asap.
     
    soapbath, Aug 1, 2005 IP