1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Would a robot.txt fix this SEO issue?

Discussion in 'robots.txt' started by rob587, May 10, 2013.

Not sure if this is the right forum. (I'm a noob)

I use a welcome gate on my wordpress site(growdude.com). It redirects first time visitors to an email capture. Problem is, google is crawling my welcome gate, instead of my blog's homepage.

How can I fix this?

rob587, May 10, 2013 IP
  2. triumph-rider

triumph-rider Peon

Best Answers:
    Hi Rob a robot.txt should fix the issue
    <META NAME="robots" CONTENT="noindex"> paste this in your meta tag within the header for your page see attached png meta_tag_in_heaer.png

triumph-rider, May 10, 2013 IP
  3. rob587

rob587 Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Aw
    Thanks so much! So I just add that code to the index page of my blog? Do I need to do anything else? Like add a robot file?

rob587, May 10, 2013 IP
  4. triumph-rider

triumph-rider Peon

Best Answers:
    No you just add the code into meta tag in the header for the welcome gate that should do it.

5. rob587

rob587 Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Well, the welcome gate is a wordpress plugin... so how do I find the header for it?

rob587, May 10, 2013 IP
  6. Revelations-Decoder

Revelations-Decoder Well-Known Member

Best Answers:

themes > edit themes > header - in your WP admin/dashboard

the header file will be in a list on the right

Revelations-Decoder, May 10, 2013 IP
  7. rob587

rob587 Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    Again, sorry for being such a dev noob. But if I add this to the header of my theme, will the search engines pick up my all in one seo plugin, instead of the welcome gate?