1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Wordpress- Query Posts from another wordpress blog on the same server

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by susan8051, May 25, 2009.

  1. #1
    I have multiple wordpress databases on the same server. I am not using wordpress MU. I have multiple wordpress installations on the same server. Is it possible to query posts from blog1 so that i can display an excerpt of some posts of blog1 on blog2's sidebar..

    Actually i want to display posts tagged with particular tag.. (Otherwise i would have done it using some SQL select operations)
    SEMrush
     
    susan8051, May 25, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. djuicePK

    djuicePK Peon

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    probably an easy solution would be like this

    
    <?php
    function get_other_posts(){
    	$wpdb_old = wp_clone($GLOBALS['wpdb']);
    	$wpdb_new = &$GLOBALS['wpdb'];	
           // All you have to care about following two lines
    	$wpdb_new = new wpdb('your_db_username','db_password','new_db_name','localhost');
    	$wpdb_new->set_prefix('wp_');
    
            //Now whatever function you'll call, it will use new database
    	$posts = get_posts('numberposts=5');
            
            //We are done so lets take the old wpdb back on its position
    	$wpdb_new = $wpdb_old;	
    }
    ?>
    
    Code (markup):
    Code is commented as well.. let me know if any problem
     
    djuicePK, May 25, 2009 IP
    susan8051 likes this.
  3. myp

    myp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    71
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #3
    myp, May 25, 2009 IP
    susan8051 likes this.
  4. susan8051

    susan8051 Peon

    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    thanks a bunch buddy.. this code is amazing.. but the functions like the_permalink(); uses the current blog's urls.. Guess we need to change some other variables too.. +Reps added..
     
    susan8051, May 25, 2009 IP
  5. djuicePK

    djuicePK Peon

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Then try using WP_Query instead of get_posts, this will let you to make your own loop and so your own the_permalink.. because we already change the context of wpdb globally so whatever function wordpress will call it will be from new database.. even for the get_option function..

    or try to unset the options variable which is usually saved in global cache or memory cache (if you enabled wp-cache)

    Thanks for the reps :)
     
    djuicePK, May 25, 2009 IP
  6. susan8051

    susan8051 Peon

    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    49
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    how to unset the options variable.. and how to set it with the new blogs'options.. :)
     
    susan8051, May 26, 2009 IP
  7. djuicePK

    djuicePK Peon

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    
    //use it after you setup new wpdb
    unset($GLOBALS['alloptions']);
    get_alloptions();
    
    Code (markup):
    I won't recommend it, you should use WP_Query way instead of get_posts... this way you can use your own variable's the_permalink, the_title etc etc..
     
    djuicePK, May 26, 2009 IP