1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Wordpress on a subdomain

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by onedollar, Feb 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. #1
    Do we need to do something extra to install wordpress on a subdomain?
    Or it should work as a normal install? I tried installing wordpress on a sub-domain but am not able to get it working.
    SEMrush
     
    onedollar, Feb 28, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. obenix

    obenix Eats an apple a day......

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    180
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    do you intend to have it as a subdomain or subfolder?
    i.e.

    blog.yourdomain.com
    or
    yourdomain.com/blog/
     
    obenix, Feb 28, 2006 IP
  3. onedollar

    onedollar SEO Consultant for Hire

    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I am looking it in as in a sub-domain as
    blog.yourdomain.com

    Thanks
     
    onedollar, Feb 28, 2006 IP
  4. obenix

    obenix Eats an apple a day......

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    180
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    have you created your subdomain?
    If you have, there will be a folder created automatically
    public_html/yourdomain/blog

    copy the WP files into the above folder, create database and setup as normal by accessing blog.yourdomain.com/install.php
     
    obenix, Feb 28, 2006 IP
  5. onedollar

    onedollar SEO Consultant for Hire

    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks obenix,Yes I have created the subdomain.

    I am trying to install it through cpanel. I am doing it on an existing site but am not able to get it function properly.

    Probably something wrong in my htaccess file which is creating the problems.
    I have posted the exact problem I am facing in this thread.
     
    onedollar, Feb 28, 2006 IP
  6. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    26,105
    Likes Received:
    3,810
    Best Answers:
    108
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #6
    I never install via cpanel so I can't comment on that but my wordpress blog is in a subfolder on a subdomain. Installed no problem ;)
     
    sarahk, Mar 1, 2006 IP
    onedollar likes this.
  7. cpucandy

    cpucandy Peon

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I agree with sarahk, I have subdomains with wordpress installed on them.
    All you need to do is:
    1. ftp all of the install files from wordpress to the directory that your sub domain runs from
    2. type in your address subdomain.domainname.com
    3. you will see a notice that you are missing a config file.
    4. open up the wp-config.sample (I believe this is the sample file name) from your machine and you will see it is pretty self explainable on what needs to be filled in. You will need to create a database and database user in cpanel. This info will go into your config file.
    5. rename the wp-config.sample to wp-config.php and upload it back to your server
    6. Go to your domain again in your web browser and you will be asked to install it.
    7. Just follow the instructions from there.

    Hopefully I did not miss anything. I might have reversed the missing config file message vs. wordpress not being installed. Let me know if you need further help. I can create a sub domain and document the install steps for you.


     
    cpucandy, Mar 3, 2006 IP
  8. Mister Tut

    Mister Tut Guest

    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    42
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I have several on subdomains, and I have to say, I'm loving DreamHost's One Click WordPress install feature! Easy-peasy.

    For Wordpress hosting, I can't recommend them highly enough, especially since they just added the One Click Update feature!

    I've said bad things about them in the past, but they've really cleaned up over there.
     
    Mister Tut, Mar 3, 2006 IP
  9. JodhaAkbar

    JodhaAkbar Peon

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    This is great info. I tried this and successfully installed Wordpress on a subdomain too. However, after changing some settings (like title, description, etc.), it gave me a message - "Update .htaccess file". Naturally I didn't understand what to do, so I ignored this message and continued updating my subdomain pages. Everything worked fine unless I clicked on "CHANGE permalink structure". The URL of the individual post (or even a page) looked quite okay. But the post / page didn't open at all. It gave "Page can't be displayed" error. I thought for a moment and immediately recollected that it has something to do with the ".htaccess" thing...

    On searching wordpress codex, I got to know a little bit about updating .htaccess file. But the main question is - where is this file located? And what exactly I should update in order to resolve my problem (i.e. individual posts / pages should open)? Any ideas please??? For reference: my main domain: http://lifeisdelightful.com and my subdomain: http://money.lifeisdelightful.com
     
    JodhaAkbar, Nov 5, 2008 IP
  10. uca

    uca Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #10
    Update the .htaccess file when you customize permalinks, or make it writable.

    And I'm not sure, but In CPanel's Fantastico installer there should be a box that asks you in what folder you want to install WP, did you do that?
     
    uca, Nov 5, 2008 IP
  11. tan19852

    tan19852 Peon

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    i install on subdomain. more easy to manage it.
     
    tan19852, Nov 6, 2008 IP
  12. Gallito

    Gallito Peon

    Messages:
    1,939
    Likes Received:
    35
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I am confused, what was the purpose in necro'ing this couple year old thread?
     
    Gallito, Nov 6, 2008 IP
  13. uca

    uca Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #13
    Ha! I didn't even notice that!
     
    uca, Nov 6, 2008 IP
  14. neal123

    neal123 Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    my cpanel does not allow another copy of wp on my site. And if I try to upload it to sub domain then I have do upload file by file, instead multiple files. Besides I do not know how will I create the database for that. Is there is faster and better way to do that. Please help
     
    neal123, Nov 19, 2008 IP
  15. chandan123

    chandan123 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    577
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #15
    how many dbs you have in your hosting ?
     
    chandan123, Nov 19, 2008 IP
  16. sarpras2005@yahoo.co.in

    sarpras2005@yahoo.co.in Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #16
    You install 2 to 3 wp on same domain with different directory.
     
    sarpras2005@yahoo.co.in, Nov 20, 2008 IP
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.