1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Windows 7 in 1GB Memory

Discussion in 'Bing' started by mhuy2x, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. 5867dude

    5867dude Peon

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #101
    With 7 tabs open in Google Chrome, on Win7 64bit this is my memory usage
    [​IMG]
    SEMrush
     
    5867dude, Feb 7, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. iShred

    iShred Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #102
    IF you're already using Vista you may as well install 7..

    If you've got XP, it's questionable.

    You would be wise to do a clean install either way so it performs decent at least for a while..
     
    iShred, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  3. iShred

    iShred Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #103

    Windows adapts to the amount of ram you have.

    Also notice Cached Available and Free.. I'm only running Chrome.. 6 tabs. in 7 64.

    [​IMG]
     
    iShred, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  4. L 1873 P

    L 1873 P Peon

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #104
    1 gb is very low for windows 7
     
    L 1873 P, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  5. manofwar

    manofwar Active Member

    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #105
    That would be brutal for anyone with 1gb or less, damn :eek:
     
    manofwar, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  6. Mystique

    Mystique Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    195
    #106
    The newer the Windows version the bigger memory and resource-demanding, which is not developing a better OS from my point of view.

    Improvements should reduce memory usage, not increasing it, at least not when it comes to the basic settings because installing additional software, like Adobe Air and others, obviously increase memory demand.
     
    Mystique, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  7. HydroJohn

    HydroJohn Active Member

    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    37
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #107
    HydroJohn, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  8. CrimsoniteX

    CrimsoniteX Active Member

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #108
    Depends on what you are doing, you can get away with 1 Gig if you are just using your PC for word-processing, the internet, IM etc. Although I highly recommend getting a 2 gig flash drive and use ReadyBoost. It works miracles for low-ram systems.
     
    CrimsoniteX, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  9. kittyxin

    kittyxin Active Member

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #109
    hey,upgrade to 2G memory. Will be more satisfactory.
     
    kittyxin, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  10. aslindo

    aslindo Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #110
    I had no problems with 1 gb ram in my netbook , my advise dont running multitasking
     
    aslindo, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  11. kotakmanoj

    kotakmanoj Peon

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #111
    I had 1 GB first, and then it started eating my RAM and my PC became too slow, then i have to upgrade the RAM to 2 GB. In 2 GB it works well. :)
     
    kotakmanoj, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  12. gigawiz

    gigawiz Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #112
    I have a desktop that i upgraded to win7 from vista.... its got an amd @1.2ghz and 384mb ram..... win7 runs like a dream..... even xp lagged.... but this is amazing....
     
    gigawiz, Feb 16, 2010 IP
  13. robertokuykendall

    robertokuykendall Guest

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #113
    1Gb is ok for windows 7. if you want more speed go to 2GB ram.
     
    robertokuykendall, Feb 21, 2010 IP
  14. bk871

    bk871 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #114
    I think 1 gig would be enough, but definitely if possible add a gig or two.
     
    bk871, Feb 21, 2010 IP
  15. YugoSlavac

    YugoSlavac Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #115
    the file itself (install cd) is over 3GB.
     
    YugoSlavac, Feb 21, 2010 IP
  16. Windows7Guy

    Windows7Guy Guest

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #116
    Hello 5867dude,

    Please check out the requirements here for Windows 7:
    If you want to run Windows 7 on your PC, here's what it requires:
    •1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    •1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
    •16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
    •DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
    You can find the official Microsoft Windows Upgrade Advisor here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/upgrade-advisor.aspx

    Before making any attempts at upgrading your Windows operating sytem; you should first backup all of your important data!
    You can also go with the easy transfer, there is a very well planned out tutorial on the microsoft site:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/help/upgrading-from-windows-xp-to-windows-7

    Also, please refer to Microsoft official site:
    Windows 7 Compatibility: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibilty.)
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/en-us/default.aspx
    There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".

    Finally, if you want to do some research; there are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 migration and upgrade decisions located at our Springboard site:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx

    Thanks again and good luck!

    John M.
    Microsoft Windows Client Support
     
    Windows7Guy, Mar 10, 2010 IP
  17. downloadvyp

    downloadvyp Peon

    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #117
    for me it hasn't worked good even with 3Gb
     
    downloadvyp, Mar 10, 2010 IP
  18. jezzz

    jezzz Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,886
    Likes Received:
    190
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    200
    #118
    I also suffered similar kind of problem! where it consumed so much virtual memory during normal work then i again reverted back to Windows XP
     
    jezzz, Mar 10, 2010 IP
  19. fr3akeeee

    fr3akeeee Peon

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #119
    Why not try upgrading your ram? Well its not the most expensive part for your laptop. Sure it'll run but for my rig, i've always been using around 1.5GB of RAM. So I'm not sure what can you do with only 1GB of RAM
     
    fr3akeeee, Mar 12, 2010 IP
  20. ssthormess

    ssthormess Active Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    73
    #120
    I was running Windows 7 Ultimate on a notebook with 512MB RAM for a month, and works fine if you will do basic tasks without Aero.

    btw, RAM is Cheap, i have 2GB on my netbook and 4GB in my Workstation, maybe 8GB soon.
     
    ssthormess, Mar 12, 2010 IP