1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.
  2. Better Analytics for WordPress Get It Free

Windows 7 in 1GB Memory

Discussion in 'Bing' started by mhuy2x, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. #1
    I am wanted to use Windows 7 as my new OS but I am not sure if my laptop can handle it. Do you think that a 1GB memory is enough for the OS to run smoothly in my laptop?
     
    mhuy2x, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  2. fierceservers

    fierceservers Peon

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I've tested Windows 7 in a virtual environment using 1Gb RAM and it worked well, more would probably be suggested though. What type of CPU?
     
    fierceservers, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  3. abluegrape

    abluegrape Peon

    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I have a Fujitsu- Siemans laptop with 1gig and it runs with ease, I had vista before and it ran like crap!

    Windows 7 is a dream, very simple but does the job
     
    abluegrape, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  4. World Class

    World Class Peon

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I am running it on 1 gb ram and its working with charm.
     
    World Class, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  5. pepino

    pepino Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    hmm...interesting
     
    pepino, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  6. kodut

    kodut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,738
    Likes Received:
    76
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #6
    are you talking about RAM or RoM.
    RAM would be sufficient but your hard disk will require a lot of space
     
    kodut, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  7. sagarrai000

    sagarrai000 Banned

    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Yeah sure. Even I run win7 on 1gb desktop.
     
    sagarrai000, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  8. Ibn Juferi

    Ibn Juferi Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    365
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    250
    #8
    I am running Windows 7 with 4GB of RAM for it to be a breeze. You can try 1GB RAM since many have reported success with it however.
     
    Ibn Juferi, Dec 15, 2009 IP
  9. pawanmahar

    pawanmahar Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Ya I have tested windows 7 it works fine with 1 GB only, yet it is some what heavy than windows xp,still you can use this 1gb ram.
     
    pawanmahar, Dec 16, 2009 IP
  10. zodiac

    zodiac Peon

    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    82
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    it'll run on 1GB,but note that 80% of it will be taken up by the OS.
     
    zodiac, Dec 16, 2009 IP
  11. needsy

    needsy Peon

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    im running on 1gb and its running pretty damn well. :)
     
    needsy, Dec 16, 2009 IP
  12. Kunalbhatia

    Kunalbhatia Active Member

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #12
    Most of you are running it on fresh partitions, which is to say you're on a freshly formatted drive. Hence it works fine on 1GB RAM. Wait a few months, you might not like it then. As time passes, your PC is going to get clogged with useless stuff and become pretty damn slow. At least that's what I think will happen.
     
    Kunalbhatia, Dec 16, 2009 IP
  13. letsjoy

    letsjoy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #13
    I,ll suggest you not to use it if you want full performance...or dont expect performance like you may b getting on XP....I tried it on 1 GB ram but it was so so... :)
     
    letsjoy, Dec 16, 2009 IP
  14. milo_pl

    milo_pl Peon

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Woo...hell no. I wouldn't recommend. 2 Gig is minimum I'd say. But if you really need to, plug in a some unsused flash drive and get advantage of ReadyBoost - it will make your Win7 more responsive.
     
    milo_pl, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  15. needsy

    needsy Peon

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Your wrong, windows even say it can run fine on 1gb ram.
    :)


    http://windows.microsoft.com/systemrequirements

    Windows 7 system requirements


    1 gigahertz (GHz) or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    1 gigabyte (GB) RAM (32-bit) or 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
    16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)
    DirectX 9 graphics device with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
     
    needsy, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  16. mfashraf

    mfashraf Active Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #16
    You should never check windows requirement. Go ahead and check Vista's requirement. The one that is actually needed is twice the one mentioned on the site.
     
    mfashraf, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  17. zodiac

    zodiac Peon

    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    82
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    my win7 install is at least a few months old.
    i have 2GB and just surfing i use 35-40%.
    it all depends on what you doing.200mb of memory is plenty if all you do is use your browser.
     
    zodiac, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  18. cl034zhu

    cl034zhu Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #18
    1GB is enough, but i think it's difficult to use.I am still learning.
     
    cl034zhu, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  19. xmart

    xmart Peon

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    depends on processor not only on RAM.
     
    xmart, Dec 17, 2009 IP
  20. bill_x

    bill_x Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I think 1Gb is enough, but not recomended. it still work well on windows, but sometimes there are some lack or things if your application too many installed and consume so much memory. At least u should add 1Gb more for excellent performance. ;)
     
    bill_x, Dec 18, 2009 IP