1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Window Service Stopped

Discussion in 'Programming' started by gray d' newbie, Aug 4, 2008.

Greetings All,

This is my first time creating a Window Service and I am having this error message when I try to start my window service (currently known as Service1). Below is my code for Window Service and also the line which I suspected is the caused of the problem.

Protected Overrides Sub OnStart(ByVal args() As String)
    Dim i As Integer
    i = Shell("\\202.186.196.128\c$\Inetpub\wwwroot\WebAdmin\Rewards\print.exe", vbNormalFocus)

Dim fs As FileStream = New FileStream("c:\temp\mcWindowsService.txt", FileMode.OpenOrCreate, FileAccess.Write)
    Dim m_streamWriter As StreamWriter = New StreamWriter(fs)
    m_streamWriter.BaseStream.Seek(0, SeekOrigin.End)
    m_streamWriter.WriteLine("BLPrinting Service: Service Started at " & Date.Now & Constants.vbLf)
    m_streamWriter.Flush()
    m_streamWriter.Close()
    End Sub

Protected Overrides Sub OnStop()
    Dim fs As FileStream = New FileStream("c:\temp\mcWindowsService.txt", FileMode.OpenOrCreate, FileAccess.Write)
    Dim m_streamWriter As StreamWriter = New StreamWriter(fs)
    m_streamWriter.BaseStream.Seek(0, SeekOrigin.End)
    m_streamWriter.WriteLine("BLPrinting Service: Service Stopped at " & Date.Now & Constants.vbLf)
    m_streamWriter.Flush()
    m_streamWriter.Close()
    End Sub

Above are the START and STOP functions for my Window Service, which I got it from some online tutorial. Since my window service is intended to call an EXE from a specific folder, hence I added in the 2 new lines, which I bolded. When I try to start my service again, it pops me this message: