1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Widget's title inheriting some weird CSS

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by hyperbit, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. #1
    Hello there!

    Due to some issues we have disabled all widgets and plugins to investigate and now we are re-enabling each of them at a time.

    At the moment we had a weird issue.

    on http://www.zizzibaddi.com/ sidebar, the VISITORS ONLINE Widget's title is inheriting some CSS but I can't find what is causing the issue.

    Each widget's title is Grey in iNove Theme and is not a link.

    In VISITORS ONLINE widget's title the Title is BLUE and underlined

    Does anybody have any idea?

    Thanks in advance

    Sean
    ________________________________________________
    Frikipix.com Hundreds of Freay Pictures from everywhere
    SEMrush
     
    hyperbit, Apr 6, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #2
    What plug in or scrip or plug in are you using to generate the "Users Online" widget?
     
    hmansfield, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  3. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Wassup Widget

    I have just enabled Cloud Tag Widget with no issues and a Text widget with BidVertiser code.

    This Bidvertiser code whose title is Ads by Bidvertiser has inherited the css issue as well.

    The Wassup Widget has some options, this one is suspicious:

    Stylesheet class for <ul> attribute: links (default "links")

    The issue is affecting only the last 10 searches box...

    Any idea...?
     
    hyperbit, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  4. lukeg32

    lukeg32 Peon

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Did you get this fixed?

    I ask because it appears to be grey now and not underlined..... let me know if you still need help with this.
     
    lukeg32, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  5. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Not fixed but more clear.

    1) The wassup widget shows online visitors and last 10 searches ended up on that site

    2) If there are no recent searches, the widget's first line is Online Visitors and then something like
    04 visitor(s) online
    powered by WassUp

    The point 2 has the issue

    3) If there are some searches, the widget then shows the searches keywords like this

    Last searched terms

    * - eee 1000h(...)partition
    * - win xp on eee pc 1000h
    * - godaddy virtualhost
    * - upmyrank app

    And then the OnLine visitors

    * 04 visitor(s) online
    * powered by WassUp

    In this case 3 the Last searched terms has the issue and the online visitors has not.

    But if there are no recent searches, then the online visitors has the issue

    I have enabled a Text widget with Bidvertiser code and put it above the wassup widget.

    This bidvertiser text widget got the issue as well, but Cluoud Tags did not...

    I am getting crazy?

    :)
     
    hyperbit, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  6. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #6
    Honestly, if the plug in is giving you that much trouble, just delete it. It's not really that important and you can get more use out of the popularity plug in.
    Readers don't really care how many users are online, and it looks even worse when there are none.

    Most of the stuff you have in the sidebar doesn't do anything to enhance user experience it's just vanity plates.
    Your sites PR, Value from some bot tool..none of it means anything to readers...besides that, you don't really have anything to show off.

    Better to use your sidebars for navigation, content, ads, and tools that will help your reader, not show off your Alexa ranking or that you have 10 feed subscribers.
    All of that stuff just yells "Amateur" to a reader.
     
    hmansfield, Apr 7, 2010 IP
  7. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Hello hmansfield,

    thanks for your suggestions, they will be considered asap.

    But your feedback is based on the current widgets which are not the one we are used to have.

    Due to some issues we have disabled all plugins and widgets and now re-enabling all, one at a time to find out which one caused the problems.

    The widgets which are not there now are related to navigation as you have suggested and yes we will remove the wassup widget but it might not be reason of the weird css issue.

    As said, will do as you suggest by removing that particular widget and keep on enabling the others to see what happens.

    Will post here any updates.
     
    hyperbit, Apr 8, 2010 IP
  8. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #8
    If you go through them one by one, you are bound to find the culprit. Curious..do any of your widgets or ad scripts use PHP?
     
    hmansfield, Apr 8, 2010 IP
  9. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Yes. By removing all Widgets and Plugins and then re-enabling them one by one we have solved the issue but it is not clear yet which one caused it.

    By checking the active ones it seems none uses PHP

    Thanks for your help
     
    hyperbit, Apr 12, 2010 IP
  10. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #10
    The reason I asked is because I still don't think Wordpress will allow you to use PHP in the (text widgets) sidebars as is, so PHP code will break your theme or displace the sidebar.
    You can use the Exec-PHP plug in, and that will take care of that issue.
     
    hmansfield, Apr 12, 2010 IP
  11. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Oh yes, I have seen that plugin and I had issues with Linkadage PHP code since it does not get parsed in widgets.

    thanks

    Just published some reviews and links to some CPM, maybe you have some suggestions about it

    http://www.zizzibaddi.com/blog/affiliate-programs
     
    hyperbit, Apr 12, 2010 IP
  12. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #12
    I'm the wrong person to ask. There are so many programs that I don't use, but I believe that webmasters should use what works for them. It's different for everyone.
    You would probably get more response on that in the "affiliate programs" section.
     
    hmansfield, Apr 12, 2010 IP
  13. hyperbit

    hyperbit Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Ops, sorry but yeah, I have published the post on such section
     
    hyperbit, Apr 12, 2010 IP