1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Why is Google analytics only showing 10% of my traffic?

Discussion in 'Google Analytics' started by hmansfield, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. #1
    I have given it 2 months to kick in now, but Google analytics is only showing 10% of my traffic from all sources, and less of traffic over all.
    When I compare it to awstats which is on my server, and different external stats from social networking sites and such, it is apparent that every other monitoring source cannot be over inflating them together.
    Has anyone else encountered this, and should I just dump the program all together.
    SEMrush
     
    hmansfield, Jun 26, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. vic_msn

    vic_msn Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    125
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #2
    I have also noticed this; sometimes it reports just 2-3 visitors to some of my sites. But I am sure more visited.
     
    vic_msn, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  3. tecolote

    tecolote Peon

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    You have to put the analytics code in each one of the pages you want tracked, maybe you didn´t do that.
     
    tecolote, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  4. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #4
    You have to put it on every page!!???
    WTF? I have over 7000 pages indexed, how am I supposed to do that?
     
    hmansfield, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  5. riziko

    riziko Peon

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    You have to put the analytics code on every page on your site (that you want to be tracked). You obviously can't put it in cached pages.
     
    riziko, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  6. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #6
    What kind of site is it? Maybe you have a common footer or some other file present in all pages.
     
    sachin410, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  7. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #7
    I have it on a word press blog, I just dumped it in the header. I guess that's not good enough.
    I always used awstats, I just thought I would check out analytics, now I want to see it work.
     
    hmansfield, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  8. godmode

    godmode Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    156
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #8
    Well if ur header file remains static across all pages, it doesnt require you to add to each page.

    It would be impossible to add code manually for every new page. This is for old non-CMS based HTML pages only.
     
    godmode, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  9. flippers.be

    flippers.be Peon

    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Analytics also requires visitors to have javascript turned on..

    if people turn it off when browsing then analytics will also not know about their visit
     
    flippers.be, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  10. findklik

    findklik Peon

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    be aware that google analytics does not update in realtime
     
    findklik, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  11. roksolana

    roksolana Peon

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I also noticed that Google analytics shows 10times less visitors than my server stats. I don't think that existing of code on each page helps in this case. The visitors are counted only if it comes. The code on each page helps only to know how many pages the user visits.
     
    roksolana, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  12. Freewebspace

    Freewebspace Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,215
    Likes Received:
    370
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    275
    #12
    The problem is most of us put Google analytics code in our footer

    A hit does n't get noticed on analytics when the footer takes time to load or the user clicks on the another internal or external link in the website before google analytics code loads


    Also another point is some times I have seen some websites with Google analytics loads slowly than the other websites!
     
    Freewebspace, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  13. BigBadWolf

    BigBadWolf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    67
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #13
    Yeah thats true, but google does recommend it their although I have put it higher in the code and it works too.
     
    BigBadWolf, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  14. liamvictor

    liamvictor Peon

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Personally, I believe as long as you keep the data for a while, then the actual numbers themselves aren't as important as the comparison of figures within an analytics program so you are comparing like with like. However if you are reporting to a boss/client, then those numbers become significantly more important.

    GA only will report visitors activity of visitors with JS on, and you have to accept inherent problems with tracking on a "stateless" web such as cookies being deleted and IP address changed.

    Google Analytics vs AWstats with regards to home page traffic:
    http://web.uwaterloo.ca/documentation/AnalyticsvLogReader.php


    http://www.seomoz.org/blog/how-reliable-is-google-analytics
    talk about the differences between server logs and GA.

    Analytics shootout:
    http://www.stonetemple.com/articles/analytics-report-may-2007.shtml
    has data from a variety of analytics programs for comparison.
     
    liamvictor, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  15. dizzy

    dizzy Peon

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Mine is pretty accurate & the stats it gives me is amazing.

    Since I use .NET, I just put the code in my masterpage & it's used on automatically on all my pages.

    You have to put it on all your pages for the stats to be accurate.
     
    dizzy, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  16. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #16
    All very helpful. Very helpful, thanks guys.
    Yes the comparison numbers are most important, but with it showing so little, it's kinda like checking Alexa for stats.
    I'll just leave it on to get a basic over view.
     
    hmansfield, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  17. trichnosis

    trichnosis Prominent Member

    Messages:
    13,785
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #17
    is there any difference for the page impressions?
     
    trichnosis, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  18. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #18
    Yes. It's a new blog, but awstats shows around 3200 page impressions a day, and Google analytics shows around 40.

    I was wondering, can I install the code in the root, and get more accurate readings?
     
    hmansfield, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  19. enadeus

    enadeus Guest

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I had the same problem and it ended up being that javascript must be enabled for analytics to work.
     
    enadeus, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  20. oseymour

    oseymour Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,962
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #20
    if you are using wordpress then put the analytics code in the footer...It works for me....analytics is great for me...I use awstats, statcounter and analytics and they all show relatively similar data..

    Analytics is great for archiving and showing you trends over time
     
    oseymour, Jun 27, 2007 IP