1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Which one will suit me the best - ASP, PHP or something else?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by vizmax, Aug 13, 2009.

Hey ppl,
    I am new to DP and new to Web Programming. You can assume I have very little idea about web programming, though I can decently manage Visual Basic, C/C++.

I would like to learn PHP or ASP or something similar.
    Meanwhile, I am also planning to start on a website in which I want to have comparisons of 10 different products with say 10 versions of each product. I want it to suggest the best product/version based on the user's usage and needs, plus simply provide comparisons between any chosen product.
    I want the site up in about 6 months time.

So please suggest which platform will be best to work with and implement it on my site as I learn.
    Thanks.
    Regards,
    VizMAX

vizmax, Aug 13, 2009 IP
  2. kblessinggr

kblessinggr Peon

Best Answers:
    Well having already been exposed to some Microsoft platform languages, ASP may be a good fit, however keep in mind that hosting packages with ASP are not as popular as those that come with PHP and often times more expensive to setup. Also most people use hosting with PHP on it, so while you might be able to charge more for .net services, your customer base won't be as plentiful. I switched from ASP (pre-.net) to PHP back in 2003 and I haven't looked back.

kblessinggr, Aug 13, 2009 IP
  3. vizmax

vizmax Peon

Best Answers:
    Thanks a lot for your suggestion.. Will surely help in deciding one.
    I was thinking about ASP.net, but then as you pointed out that finding a host is diificult, I will reconsider my options.

vizmax, Aug 13, 2009 IP
  4. kreativen