1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Where to put google analytics tracking code???

Discussion in 'Google Analytics' started by Noc, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. #1
    I own some proxies and a blog. Where do I put the tracking code to get accurate results???
    Noc, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  2. wizs

    wizs Greenhorn

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    #2
    Put it just above the closing </body> tag!
    wizs, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  3. eLeSlash

    eLeSlash Active Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #3
    somewhere between <body> and </body> tag as wizs said.
    eLeSlash, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  4. Noc

    Noc Active Member

    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #4
    In what file? I am guessing index.php? Then is that the only place you put it on your site? Do you ever put it in another file, or is it always just one?
    Noc, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  5. litte

    litte Guest

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    google analytics needs put the tracking code into every web page
    It will prompt you
    litte, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  6. Homer

    Homer Spirit Walker

    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    150
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    You mentioned a blog in your first post. If it is a WP blog this WP plugin works great. You can also track adsense with this plugin.

    If it's not a blog then wizs is correct, above the </body> tag. If your site spans multiple domains a custom installation is needed.


    Cheers,

    Homer
    Homer, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  7. aditne

    aditne Banned

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Yes you put before end of closing tag of body. It is good tool, it updates in 24 hours.
    aditne, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  8. sachin410

    sachin410 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,416
    Likes Received:
    572
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #8
    you need to put it in a file that is common for all pages.

    e.g. if you are using wordpress, put the code in the footer.
    sachin410, Nov 12, 2008 IP
  9. seocipl

    seocipl Member

    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    #9
    Flanked by <body> and </body> tag.
    seocipl, Nov 13, 2008 IP
  10. james2007

    james2007 Peon

    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Put google analytic code in between <body> and </body>.
    james2007, Nov 13, 2008 IP
  11. aleish

    aleish Peon

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    If you site is static page, put it in every page before the </body> tag. But if your site is CMS like wordpress, drupal, there is a module where you will put the code and no need to put in every page.
    aleish, Nov 13, 2008 IP
  12. habreza

    habreza Member

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    #12
    habreza, Dec 17, 2012 IP
  13. andreayton

    andreayton Greenhorn

    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #13
    Google analytics needs put the tracking code into every web page .It should tell you
    andreayton, Dec 17, 2012 IP
  14. indyonline

    indyonline Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,629
    Likes Received:
    249
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #14
    What's with all these idiot n00bies bumping 4 year old threads lately...?
    Look at the post dates people...
    geez
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
    indyonline, Dec 17, 2012 IP
  15. affishare

    affishare Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    #15
    If you are using WP, install google analytics plugin and it will take care of it, by the way what do you mean :
    , why u need proxies ?
    affishare, Dec 17, 2012 IP
  16. indyonline

    indyonline Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,629
    Likes Received:
    249
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #16
    Why use a plugin if not needed. If he is using wordpress he can just put it in the header.php or footer.php file. I personally don't like having a bunch of plugins. Especially for something that is so easy to do.
    indyonline, Dec 17, 2012 IP