1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Where is the line for encouraging clicks?

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by crew, Aug 6, 2005.

Hi guys, been in SEO awhile but I'm new to Adsense.

I have a page that is getting mad traffic from Google images search and my bandwidth is getting killed right now. In your opinion, would it be bad news to put something on the page in a prominent place like "Thanks for checking out my site, this image is getting tons of traffic from searches right now and my bandwidth is suffering. Please help me out however you can."

I'm sure this has been covered before but I couldn't find anything on DigPoint about it. Please feel free to refer me to any posts or keyword searches that gives guidance on how Google judges this. Thanks.

crew, Aug 6, 2005 IP
  2. fryman

fryman Kiss my rep

Best Answers:
    Too risky... if you want to be on the safe lane be specific, like ask for donations or something.

Visitors should click on ads because they are interested and looking for what the ad offers, not because you need to pay for your bandwidth.

fryman, Aug 6, 2005 IP
  3. Design Agent

Design Agent Peon

Best Answers:
    Dont do it.. make the design better, request donations, affiliates and sell advertising space.

Design Agent, Aug 6, 2005 IP
  4. City2

City2 Peon

Best Answers:
    Dont do that! very bad idea. You need to learn more, look around the forums because you dont want to take any risks getting banned

City2, Aug 6, 2005 IP
  5. av1

av1 Active Member

Best Answers:
    try offering limited information on that page so users end up seeking for more. and hope that google displays proper ads :)

av1, Aug 6, 2005 IP
  6. iskandar