1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What is the best approach to block bots and spam referrers?

Discussion in 'Apache' started by Jeffr2014, Apr 10, 2015.

I am new to this server administration art, so my apology if I am asking something very basic...

Anyway, here is my dilemma. If I know the IP range that I want to block the best option is to block it with IPTABLES (thanks to @deathshadow for educating me on this). This works well when you want to block entire countries. But what happens when you want to block specific IPs rather than ranges? Is iptables still more effective than "deny from [IP]" in .htaccess? I read that you don't want iptables to grow too big as it slows performance, but I guess it is still more effective than having big .htaccess..?

When it comes to blocking spam bots or referrers, robots.txt is just a suggestion for bots, when I looked at my traffic logs I noticed that most bots don't even look at robots.txt file. As far as I understand the only option here is to use .htaccess

1. I am currently using this in my .htaccess:
    SetEnvIfNoCase User-Agent *ahrefsbot* bad_bot=yes
    SetEnvIfNoCase Referer fbdownloader.com spammer=yes
    SetEnvIfNoCase Referer social-buttons.com spammer=yes
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    Deny from env=spammer
    Deny from env=bad_bot

2. Apparently, there is another approach as per below:
    # Deny domain access to spammers
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} queryseeker [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^(www\.)?.*(-|.)?adult(-|.).*$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} ^(www\.)?.*(-|.)?sex(-|.).*$

RewriteRule .* - [F,L]

Which approach is better #1 or #2? Any better alternative?