What does cpm, ppc mean!!!

Discussion in 'Pay Per Click Advertising' started by mircea007, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. #1
    Im new to the adsense world

    so i know ppc means pay per click

    what are the other words mean

    like cpm , CTR

    and there is a few other ones don't remember now


    Thank you
     
    mircea007, Jun 9, 2009 IP
  2. infogle

    infogle Prominent Member

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    #2
    CPM: cost per mille (per thousand)
    CTR: click through rate

    Hope this helps...
     
    infogle, Jun 9, 2009 IP
  3. dynashox

    dynashox Premium Member Staff

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    #3
    CPM - Cost Per Thousand Impressions
    CTR - Click Through Rate

    - Dynashox -
     
    dynashox, Jun 9, 2009 IP
  4. tcyonline

    tcyonline Guest

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    #4
    Hello Dear,
    As you know these words are used in google advetising such google adsense and google adwords.
    CPM refers to Cost Per Thousand Impressions ie. No. of advertisements appear on all websites and CTR refers to Cost Through Rate
     
    tcyonline, Jun 9, 2009 IP
  5. mircea007

    mircea007 Peon

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    #5
    thank you

    can you detail the CTR a little bit more
     
    mircea007, Jun 9, 2009 IP
  6. john3003

    john3003 Peon

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    #6
    Cpm - cost per thousand impressions.

    With cpm you earn money for displaying ads, no need to click on ads to earn money. With cpm you earn for every 1,000 ad impressions.

    Ctr - Click through rate.

    Ctr is a click through rate, it compared your click to your impressions.

    Click through rate
     
    john3003, Jun 10, 2009 IP
  7. Amer

    Amer Peon

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    #7
    CTR - Click-Through Rate

    The number of times a link on a Web page is clicked compared to the number of times it is displayed.
    Advertising royalties paid to Web sites are often based on click-through rate (CTR), and the amount paid per click-through is considerably higher than the cost of an ad that is displayed without accounting for its effectiveness.

    The click-through rate is also used for other than advertisements. For example, it can measure how many times people click a link to go to another part of the Web site. See pay-per-click, banner ad, conversion rate and CPM.
     
    Amer, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  8. john3003

    john3003 Peon

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    #8
    That is a very good explanation. Nice one.
     
    john3003, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  9. mircea007

    mircea007 Peon

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    #9
    thank you for the detailed explanation :D

    and i saw another term

    ecpm

    is that the same as cpm ?
     
    mircea007, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  10. john3003

    john3003 Peon

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    #10
    Cpm - cost per thousand impressions.

    eCpm - effective (average) cost per thousand impressions

    The "e" states the effective, just like average.
     
    john3003, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  11. rv12may

    rv12may Peon

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    #11
    Nice Explanation Amer. Keep it up!
     
    rv12may, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  12. john3003

    john3003 Peon

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    #12
    I should get a reputation too for giving some information :D
     
    john3003, Jun 11, 2009 IP
  13. webpromoterservice

    webpromoterservice Peon

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    #13
    the one you really wanna know is ROI - Return on Investment
     
    webpromoterservice, Jun 12, 2009 IP
  14. bangar

    bangar Active Member

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    #14
    CPM = Cost per Mile(1000).These 1000 Impressions are unique impressions or it can repeated any ?
     
    bangar, Jun 14, 2009 IP
  15. john3003

    john3003 Peon

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    #15
    It's easier to remember, cost per thousand impressions. Some people don' know how long a mile is, lol.
     
    john3003, Jun 15, 2009 IP
  16. ejazmahmood

    ejazmahmood Member

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    #16
    Here are some more definations

    # CTR - Click-through rate
    # CPI - Cost Per Impression
    # PPC - Pay per click
    # CPA - Cost Per Action or Acquisition
    # Internet marketing
    # CPC - Cost Per Click
    # eCPA - effective Cost Per Action

    Detail


    Cost per mille (CPM), also called cost ‰ and cost per thousand (CPT) (in Latin mille means thousand) , is a commonly used measurement in advertising. Radio, television, newspaper, magazine, Out-of-home advertising and online advertising can be purchased on the basis of what it costs to show the ad to one thousand viewers (CPM). It is used in marketing as a benchmark to calculate the relative cost of an advertising campaign or an ad message in a given medium. Rather than an absolute cost, CPM estimates the cost per 1000 views of the ad.

    An example of computing the CPM:

    1. Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
    2. The total audience is 2,400,000 people.
    3. CPM is calculated as CPM = $15,000/(2,400,000/1000) = $6.25


    eCPM is calculated by dividing total earnings by total number of impressions in thousands. It is a great performance measure for your various ad units, so when experimenting, you can use eCPM to compare your results.

    [​IMG]

    But what if your site doesn't receive enough impressions to have a large sample size? Even for smaller sites, eCPM can be a useful statistic to track ad performance.

    I think its enough 4 understanding even if any1 is beginner.:)
     
    ejazmahmood, Jun 15, 2009 IP
  17. the_businessman

    the_businessman Peon

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    #17
    Thanks guys, this was pretty useful to me as well :D
     
    the_businessman, Jun 15, 2009 IP
  18. mircea007

    mircea007 Peon

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    #18
    great explanations .... thank you all
     
    mircea007, Jun 19, 2009 IP