1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

what are thing to consider while programming a forum using php?

Discussion in 'PHP' started by ale_steve, Jan 12, 2017.

hi there
    i'm working on a forum for my site. here is the thing:
    i'm using php as a language but it's my first time in such project i would love some advice in what are the security things i should consider while programing like "xxs", "csrf"
    thank you for the help :)

ale_steve, Jan 12, 2017 IP
  2. sarahk

sarahk iTamer Staff

Best Answers:
    My first question would be "why are you recreating the wheel"
    There are lots of free forum software available and you could learn as much PHP by extending their functionality and creating your own theme as by creating something that already exists.

sarahk, Jan 12, 2017 IP
    NetStar likes this.
  3. ale_steve

ale_steve Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    yes i know but i'm trying to expanse my knowledge by doing it from scratch

pigpromoter likes this.
  4. PoPSiCLe

PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    If so, you might want to take a look at the code for the forums that already exist. The security risks are the same as for any other sites that allow user-login and user-posts. Sanitize everything, run everything through a central point (load every file via index.php, use .htaccess / server config to disallow everything users don't need access to, and use things like modx-sendfile to provide downloadable files, or just fetching files for embedded use on the forum, since that will prevent a bit of trouble as well (it's not enabled by default, so you need to install it on the server / set it up in Apache config)).