1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

What a load of crap

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by mopacfan, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. #1
    I can't believe I didn't see that you have to "Enable" your ad in the network. All this time displaying ads on my site and none of mine have been shown anywhere else. No wonder I was getting squat from the coop. Now my only question is do I now still have to wait the 100 hours for my ads to get distributed?
    SEMrush
     
    mopacfan, Oct 28, 2004 IP
    Sven likes this.
    SEMrush
  2. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    sites grab a new ad_network_ads.txt file daily, I think...

    so within 24 hours after your ad's approved, you should start to see them
     
    disgust, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  3. chachi

    chachi The other Jason

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    57
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    wow,that sucks. I think that is the real safety check for the system. I think Shawn actually goes through and looks at each ad and approves it before it goes live.
     
    chachi, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  4. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I just wish I would have known or realized that I had to click on the "Enable" text to atually start the ad in the rotation. I had the site validated for over two weeks and wondered why I wasn't seeing any results. I thought all you had to do was create the ad and that they would be approved and everything would be hunkey dorey. Oh well. Live and learn eh?
     
    mopacfan, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #5
    I kind of agree about it... I did change it so it was bold and red if it's not enabled (it's been like that for awhile). After I forgot to enabled my own ads. :)

    But there *is* a reason it works that way... some users have a bunch of ads they have, and they rotate them in and out. Each user can have up to 10 ads running at once... but if they were enabled by default, then you couldn't make any ads if you had 10 enabled ones.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  6. maha

    maha Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #6
    I think it's a great feature to have.
     
    maha, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  7. leeds1

    leeds1 Peon

    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Shaun

    As I said in my PM this is just the best thing there is.

    It's 100% free and has to be the most useful tool on the seo planet.

    There are teething troubles for some people but hey - once these are over you are away

    And it's Free

    Oh, did I say it was free ? :p
     
    leeds1, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  8. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I actually forget to enable ads all the time, lol. Mopac- you'll enjoy that feature now that you are actually displaying ads though, trust me. :)
     
    schlottke, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  9. leeds1

    leeds1 Peon

    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    yes, trust schlottke, he's on a small island in the middle of nowhere

    whoops - wrong thread :p
     
    leeds1, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  10. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    haha. ;) but on a serious note- the enable feature really does help when you're loading a lot of ads you won't be using for a couple weeks..
     
    schlottke, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  11. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I'm more upset with myself than anything. I must be getting old or something to have not figure this one out when I created the ads. Hey Shawn, how bout a big neon flashing sign with an arrow that covers the rest of the page until the ad is Enabled for us blind old fogeys? :)
     
    mopacfan, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  12. mocara

    mocara Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Now I'm confused, I joined the ad network a week or so ago. How can I tell if the ads are getting displayed on other's sites? I know they are on mine :)

    Mocara.
     
    mocara, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  13. flawebworks

    flawebworks Tech Services

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #13
    Yes; old age is a terrible thing.
     
    flawebworks, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  14. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #14
    Just make sure you are validated and have at least one enabled ad.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  15. sadcox66

    sadcox66 Spirit Walker

    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Thank you... had you not started this thread with such an interesting title I would have never enabled my text link ads.

    Hope you feel good knowing I did not enable mine for 2-3 weeks as well.


    Is there a way to "edit" an advertisement or do you just have to recreate it and delete the old one ?
     
    sadcox66, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  16. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I think you have to delete and recreate. I would assume that's so people don't change ads after they've been approved.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  17. Trance-formation

    Trance-formation Peon

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    You're bang on the nail, GFC. Shawn has explicitly said that elsewhere.
     
    Trance-formation, Oct 29, 2004 IP
  18. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    It does make me feel good to know I'm not alone :) After all, misery does love company :)
     
    mopacfan, Oct 29, 2004 IP
  19. leeds1

    leeds1 Peon

    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    it's OK we have all been there
     
    leeds1, Oct 29, 2004 IP