1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Viewing Client's System Requirements

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Feidan, Jun 15, 2004.

Hi, I am a total n00b when it comes to scripting (Im just learning ASP this summer) and web pages but I was wondering if it's possible for a web page to detect a client's RAM, CPU clock speed, Video Ram and Operating System when they browse the page? I am trying to create a requirements page that can tell clients if they have enough memory and cpu power to run an application.

Is there anything that javascript or ASP can do? I do know that Javascript can return what kind of browser a person uses and some display properties but that doesn't help. Are there any kind of scripts already out there that can do the job? Thanks for the help

Feidan, Jun 15, 2004 IP
  2. North Carolina SEO

North Carolina SEO Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    I haven't found answers to all of your needs but, you can visit http://wsabstract.com/script/cut22.shtml for a script to detect the OS. :cool:

North Carolina SEO, Jun 15, 2004 IP
  3. SEbasic

SEbasic Peon

Best Answers:
    Server logs pick that up any way (along with Screen Res and Browser type)

SEbasic, Jun 16, 2004 IP
  4. l0cke

l0cke Active Member

Best Answers:
    I'm pretty sure this would require an activex control or something similar.

l0cke, Jun 16, 2004 IP
  5. North Carolina SEO

North Carolina SEO Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    I believe the concern here is to predetermine if a client has the resources available and respond to them if not. IMO.

North Carolina SEO, Jun 16, 2004 IP
  6. Feidan

Feidan Guest

Best Answers: