1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

vBulletin Cache Issue - Cannot Login

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by Mandar, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. #1
    Hello Friends,

    I have installed vBulletin on http://www.hi5arena.com/forum . Some members reported me that they cannot login. After entering username and password, they can see redirecting window but after coming again on index page it ask for login again. Is there any cache system or like that ? Does vBulletin store pages ? If yes please tell me how to disable it! Or is it a browser problem ?

    Please help me ! [​IMG]

    Thanks
    Mandar
     
    Mandar, Dec 18, 2008 IP
  2. Devilfish

    Devilfish Active Member

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #2
    This problem occurs when you don't redirect hi5arena.com to www.hi5arena.com.

    Your actual site is located at www.hi5arena.com but there are people who will not use the www. and simply enter the domain. When they enter their login details, it looks as if they are loggin in but they are redirected to the wrong domain so it kicks them back out again.

    Option 1:
    Do a 301 redirect from hi5arena.com to www.hi5arena.com.

    Option 2:
    AdminCP > vBulletin Options > General Options > Post Referrer Whitelist
    Add hi5arena.com to the box and save.
     
    Devilfish, Dec 19, 2008 IP
    mcfox likes this.
  3. Mandar

    Mandar Banned

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    oh thank you sir ! :)
     
    Mandar, Dec 20, 2008 IP
  4. Devilfish

    Devilfish Active Member

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #4
    You're welcome! :)
     
    Devilfish, Dec 20, 2008 IP
  5. joyboy2001

    joyboy2001 Peon

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    this issue can also happen if the cookie domain is not set properly. Please check if that's not the issue.
     
    joyboy2001, Dec 29, 2008 IP
  6. Mandar

    Mandar Banned

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    How to set it ? :confused:
     
    Mandar, Dec 30, 2008 IP
  7. Shadab

    Shadab Peon

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    AdminCP -> vBulletin Options -> vBulletin Options -> Cookies and HTTP Header Options -> Cookie Domain

    It's suggested to have it (blank).
     
    Shadab, Dec 30, 2008 IP
  8. ~kev~

    ~kev~ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    194
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #8
    Tell them to click the "Remember me" check box when they log in.

    This same exact thing happens to me on the digital point forums all the time. Checking the "Remember Me" check box allows me to log in and stay logged in.
     
    ~kev~, Dec 30, 2008 IP
    Brandon Sheley likes this.
  9. joyboy2001

    joyboy2001 Peon

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Yea ... This is one area where vB really bugs me ... If you have Cookie driven sessions, you save load on the server but need to use this option more often than you like. They have a workaround as well in form of Database driven sessions, but what if you don't want to put that much load on the server ?

    Why can't the Cookie based sessions work perfectly in vB ?
     
    joyboy2001, Dec 31, 2008 IP
  10. Mandar

    Mandar Banned

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Thanks for replying guys ! :)
     
    Mandar, Dec 31, 2008 IP
  11. ~kev~

    ~kev~ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    194
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #11
    Out of all of the VB forums I visit (and its a LOT), its only the very busy forums that I have to use the remember me check box. The cookie problems might be related to server load, but I'am not sure.
     
    ~kev~, Jan 1, 2009 IP
  12. Mandar

    Mandar Banned

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Now its working fine ( check if you want - http://www.sharingbb.com ) ! I have added only it to white list ! Thanks
     
    Mandar, Jan 1, 2009 IP
  13. PeterFlex

    PeterFlex Peon

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    the tools.php file would fix this error too
     
    PeterFlex, Jan 3, 2009 IP
  14. Mandar

    Mandar Banned

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    yes i haf that file but dont know how to use it !

    And guys my site is still not working without www ! Members can only login using www . . . I have added .sharingbb.com to white list, still its not working
     
    Mandar, Jan 3, 2009 IP