1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Using images in my blog?

Discussion in 'Blogging' started by kzpl23, Oct 16, 2015.

Hi, Im new to blogging and did some research and found out that I cant use google images since they are copyrighted. However, I read some more and came across the fair use right, but im a little confused. My blog is going to be about computers/laptops ect and I will be going over the product and what specs it has and why this or that is good, kinda like a review. But, what images can I use? for instance for laptops, I would like to talk about asus, msi and few others but need some images otherwise its just going to be a block of words. I was wondering if this goes under the fair use right? Or how do all these different websites have the same images and its okay?

I just wanted to ask since Im learning and I rather learn to do it the right way from the start. Thanks!

kzpl23, Oct 16, 2015 IP
  2. billzo

billzo Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    No, that does not qualify as fair use. If you want to discuss computers, perhaps you could get manufacturers to let you use some pictures? Otherwise, you will have to take your own or get permission from whoever owns the copyright. You cannot just use other people's pictures in your blog and claim "fair use" because you are not using the picture in any way that constitutes fair use such as discussing the picture itself, which would be sketchy because most fair use claims involve using PART of something such as passages from a book and not an entire work.

You can quote segments from an article and discuss those passages as part of fair use. You cannot publish entire articles and claim fair use. Same thing with pictures.