1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Using images for Search Engine Optimization

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by Advocatus2, Jan 2, 2014.

I would really appreciate anyone’s help, and I hope you are able to understand my question. I’m new to E-commerce and I might not be using the correct terminology to explain my question.

First Image
    [​IMG]

Second Image
    [​IMG]

Third Image
    [​IMG]

I would like to use Search Engine Optimization in relation to my website I am developing by separating multi-word-named images.

When you have more than one image to link the same product, how do you optimize the second & third image without confusing the search engine?

Do you use hyphens for -2 & -3
    Image: 1
    elmo-onesie.jpg
    Image:2
    elmo-onesie-2.jpg
    Image:3
    elmo-onesie -3.jpg

Or would you use underscores for second & third image?

elmo-onesie.jpg
    elmo-onesie_2.jpg
    elmo-onesie _3.jpg

I would also like to clarify something else from the above question.

If you have to describe image to the search engine what would be the most appropriate way to describe the above image? Is there a limit on the amount of words you can use?

If you had to select from these examples, what would be the best one to use or would you use something else?

Example: elmo-onesie.jpg
    Example: elmo-onesie-animal-onesie.jpg
    Example: kids-elmo-onesie-animal-onesie.jpg

I have to hyphenate over 250 images and I would like to do this correctly the first time.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2014
    Advocatus2, Jan 2, 2014 IP
  2. iexo

iexo Member

Best Answers:
    The example I'd choose is: