1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Using Google Analytics to track "exit links"

Discussion in 'Google Analytics' started by trickortrade, May 18, 2006.

  1. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #21
    You add the onclick code to each outgoing link on your site. Then when somebody clicks a link the outgoing/yahoo.com parameters are sent to your google analytics script.
    SEMrush
    As you say google analytics thinks that a page on your site called outgoing/yahoo.com has just had a hit and it registers it.
     
    mad4, May 21, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. COUME

    COUME Peon

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    That's indeed the easiest method and in using this onClick, you can also monitor your downloads.
     
    COUME, May 21, 2006 IP
  3. bigdealio

    bigdealio Active Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #23
    Could you please tell me how to exactly setup this filter? I tried but Im not sure I did it right. GA interface is not very intuitive.


     
    bigdealio, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  4. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    You dont actually need to set up a filter. Just go into Top Content and then type the word outgoing into the box and then click on the plus symbol twice.
     
    mad4, Jul 6, 2006 IP
  5. bigdealio

    bigdealio Active Member

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #25
    Do you mean in Webmaster View/Content Performance/Top Content. And there type outgoing? I did that by I don't see a + symbol anywhere there.
     
    bigdealio, Jul 7, 2006 IP
  6. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #26
    Content Optimisation>Content Performance>Top content and then type 'outgoing' into where it says filter + and click the plus then click is again when it turns to a ninus.
     
    mad4, Jul 7, 2006 IP
  7. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #27
    Thanks for this mad4, very helpful. Do you know if it takes some time to register the click in GA?
     
    dcristo, Oct 16, 2006 IP
  8. fsmedia

    fsmedia Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    262
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    390
    #28
    I give Google everything. My social, my credit card numbers, my bank account information, I don't care if they have my search data.

    To fully integrate an "outclick" counter, I use a javascript and then use an onClick="" event to track outbound clicks. Google doesn't see any difference in the link because it's a javascript.
     
    fsmedia, Oct 16, 2006 IP
  9. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #29
    Are you just reiterating what mad4 suggested, or something else?
     
    dcristo, Oct 16, 2006 IP
  10. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #30
    dcristo, Oct 16, 2006 IP
  11. fsmedia

    fsmedia Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Likes Received:
    262
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    390
    #31
    I may have missed what he said, but probably the same thing. Javascript outbound tracking is the best way to do it I think.
     
    fsmedia, Oct 16, 2006 IP
  12. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    I have it in the footer and it seems to work fine for me.
     
    mad4, Oct 22, 2006 IP
  13. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #33
    Yeah cool dude, I just wasn't patient enough to see the onclick events register in analytics.
     
    dcristo, Oct 22, 2006 IP
  14. mirturk

    mirturk Active Member

    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    79
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #34
    Thanks buddy I'll use it.
     
    mirturk, Oct 22, 2006 IP
  15. dsr771

    dsr771 Peon

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #35
    Is this really a bad way of doing it? Please elaborate on why it is bad. Is there a penalty somewhere? Thanks.
     
    dsr771, Nov 15, 2006 IP
  16. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #36
    The site you are linking to may think you are not wanting to pass the link juice to them and its not as good for the user experience.
     
    mad4, Nov 15, 2006 IP
  17. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #37
    Oh ok, I thought you were meaning something else actually. ie. Having too many redirects on your site is frowned upon by Google? I think in most instances it would be wise to use them for affiliate links to hide them and make it easy to update from one central location.
     
    dcristo, Nov 15, 2006 IP
  18. maldives

    maldives Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    901
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #38
    Google analytics is useless if you do not know how to utilize the data well. Both Google and Statcounter is free so using both will widen your horizon.

    I do not think Google Analytics is very bad either! What is wrong if we give our data to Google?
     
    maldives, Nov 15, 2006 IP
  19. dougyitbos

    dougyitbos Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #39
    This is an awesome thread, and thank Mad4 for the great info.
    Here's my question...

    I want to implement the onClick solution in my wordpress blog.
    Specifically in the blogroll ... where many exit links exist.

    But Wordpress doesn't provide any "hooks" to filter the sidebar links so I've yet to find a "plugin" that enables this.

    Has anybody done this in the sidebar links on a wordpress blog?

    (self hosted wordpress by the way)
     
    dougyitbos, Aug 22, 2007 IP
  20. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #40
    mad4, Aug 22, 2007 IP