1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

uploading htaccess causes "500 Server Error"

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by yonnermark, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. #1
    Hi
    when I upload the htaccess file, it causes my website to be inaccessible. I just get a message in the browser saying "500 Server Error"

    Here is the website:
    www.grand-piano-sales.co.uk

    It is hosted on a standard CPANEL hosting plan.

    Any ideas what is likely to be causing this problem?
    Thanks
    Mark
     
    yonnermark, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,535
    Likes Received:
    2,378
    Best Answers:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #2
    My guess would be that your server/site doesn't support .htaccess (or at least the directives used).
     
    digitalpoint, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  3. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    that would be a shame. Can I find that out within CPANEL do you know?
     
    yonnermark, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  4. a389951l

    a389951l Must Create More Content

    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Best best is to ask you hosting company.
     
    a389951l, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  5. Christopher

    Christopher Peon

    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Yeah, I had the same problem. Why are you editing your file? What do you need to do?
     
    fryman, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  7. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I'm not editing the file, I'm uploading the one supplied by the Network setup instructions and overwriting the existing one.
     
    yonnermark, Jan 11, 2005 IP
  8. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    If you have cpanel you should not need or touch .htaccess

    You should have apache handlers as a slection and also or if not
    mime types.

    Either way you can instruct the server to interpret htm html with php

    .htm .html application/x-httpd-php

    Most Cpanel installs use the .htaccess file so if you generate your own better be sure what you put in it.

    M
     
    expat, Jan 11, 2005 IP