1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

updating wordpress site.

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by enhu, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. #1
    i just notice that its now 2.8 and im still using 2.7.
    now i've mess this up months ago so can you tell me how to do it and what to remember before applying it.
    SEMrush
    if possible post a tutorial link please. :D
     
    enhu, Jun 16, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. jason12390

    jason12390 Peon

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    you can install Wordpress Automatic Upgrade plugin and it will auto update your wordpress for you. Or I think wordpress now has added a auto upgrade as well though I have never used it.
     
    jason12390, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  3. kentuckyslone

    kentuckyslone Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    367
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #3
    You do not need a plugin at all. The auto update has been built into the wordpress script for some time (since 2.6 I think). It takes less than 5 seconds to do the update now.
     
    kentuckyslone, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  4. enhu

    enhu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #4
    Thanks. but then do i have to deactivate my plugins before clicking the update link above my wp-admin?
     
    enhu, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  5. acoustics

    acoustics Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    disable all plugins first..then auto update wordpres...

    after updating..reacrivate all plugins...
     
    acoustics, Jun 16, 2009 IP
    enhu likes this.
  6. hamada2588

    hamada2588 Peon

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    guess what yesterday i did the auto upgrade,and it stopped while updating the files , as a result my website just " disappeared " be careful before you do it
     
    hamada2588, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  7. kentuckyslone

    kentuckyslone Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    367
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #7

    OHH! That could really hurt! I hope you had some good backups

    That is why you do a backup first. In fact before you click the button to auto upgrade it actually warns you to backup your database first :D
     
    kentuckyslone, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  8. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #8
    The auto update for the wordpress files never works for me. Here is how I do it and have never had a problem.

    First of all, back up the files on your current install.

    After you download the new files and unzip them...via your FTP, Delete the Admin, and Includes folders of your old install.

    Open your new folder of Wordpress 2.8 so that all the files show. Select all (highlight) of the new files and folders EXCEPT Content, and Config.php.

    Drag and drop the remainder of your new Word Press Files over the old install.

    Be sure that you do not drop in the new Content Folder, or the Config.php file.

    When it's done, log into your admin panel and it should direct you to update your data base by clicking the "update" button.
    That's it.

    It's called the 3 step upgrade, here is the link to the tutorial:
    http://codex.wordpress.org/Upgrading_WordPress
     
    hmansfield, Jun 16, 2009 IP
    enhu likes this.
  9. vrktech

    vrktech Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #9
    I have updated my 3 blogs to 2.8 from 2.7.1 succesfully by the wordpress built in autoupdate, It worked fine for me, I have never disabled any plugin before update

    It is really good to take all backups before the update
     
    vrktech, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  10. enhu

    enhu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #10
    thanks. i have now read the instructions.
     
    enhu, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  11. internetmarketingiq

    internetmarketingiq Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #11
    The right way to do it is to guess and use tips posted in Forums.

    The wrong way to do it is to go to WordPress and follow their detailed step-by-step instructions.

    Dyslexicanomoly.
     
    internetmarketingiq, Jun 16, 2009 IP
    kentuckyslone likes this.
  12. Houdy

    Houdy Peon

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Backup the database, that is more important than anything else. The theme can be be rebuilt but the content can't!
     
    Houdy, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  13. Jalpari

    Jalpari Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,640
    Likes Received:
    137
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    260
    #13
    u get good tips, another tip for u take fresh backup copy in case of any problem u can recover ur blog.
     
    Jalpari, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  14. enhu

    enhu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #14
    i'm still in the process lol. I've also read that if possible i should also back up the content folder. right?
     
    enhu, Jun 16, 2009 IP
  15. Dismatikz

    Dismatikz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #15
    I just upgraded mine yesterday, and it all went smoothly, and was completed in what.. 10-15mins [first time upgrade for me].

    You can find an in-depth tutorial on how to upgrade, here.

    Good luck!
     
    Dismatikz, Jun 17, 2009 IP
  16. acoustics

    acoustics Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    my wirdpress upgraded....

    Max time 1min....

    just disabled all plugins...

    click on autoupgrade....

    upgradation done...

    rectvated all plugins..

    if you installed wordpress frim your cpanel..???

    then you can easily make backup & upgrade just in 3-4 clicks...
     
    acoustics, Jun 17, 2009 IP
  17. enhu

    enhu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #17
    yea i've installed it using fantastico. thanks.
    anyway, fix your keyboard. O and I had errors. :D
     
    enhu, Jun 17, 2009 IP
  18. hamada2588

    hamada2588 Peon

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    @ hmansfield thanks for your answer it's really useful , i just hope i had seen it before my upgrade crashed :) , but anyway now it works fine :)
     
    hamada2588, Jun 17, 2009 IP
  19. hmansfield

    hmansfield Guest

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    298
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #19
    NP. I used to have one hell of a time upgrading before automatic upgrade, so I have made the mistakes for you :). Once you do it a few times manually, it's like second nature.
     
    hmansfield, Jun 17, 2009 IP