1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Understanding some css basics

Discussion in 'CSS' started by tom11011, Jan 13, 2014.

Hi group,

I'm diving in to more formal learning of css. I can figure out how to make changes I need to make edits to websites by use of the firefox inspect tool, but I must admit I have no formal knowledge of the basics and could not write css from scratch if I had too.

So I have a really basic newbie question that has been burning for a while I thought I would ask.

When I look at some css, I see three major differences in the way a line of code starts that confuses me.

Some code starts with a #, some starts with a . and some start with nothing at all. Can someone help explain the differences?

For example, here is some random css I scraped out of a file.

img {
      -ms-interpolation-mode: bicubic; }

#map_canvas img,
    #map_canvas embed,
    #map_canvas object,
    .map_canvas img,
    .map_canvas embed,
    .map_canvas object {
      max-width: none !important; }
    Code (markup):

tom11011, Jan 13, 2014 IP
  2. deathshadow

deathshadow Acclaimed Member

Best Answers:
    # targets an ID.
    . targets a class
    no character indicates a tag.

This: #test { color:red; }
    would target: <div id="test">This is red</div>

This: .test { color:blue; }
    targets: <div class="test">This is blue</div>

this: div { color:green; }
    targets: <div>This is green</div>

values separated by spaces mean "child of", so this:

#test span { color:yellow; }

targets the span inside #test thus:
    <div id="test">Not yellow <span>Yellow</span></div>

You should also be aware that ID's trump classes and classes trump elements without classes... so this:

div { color:green; }