1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Two "index" pages. Would this penalize?

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by sanabara, Feb 8, 2005.

Hello everybody:
    I've just registered and this is my first post.
    First thing I must say, before you realize it by your own in a minute, is that I'm a novice on optimization, the same on web design, and I don't speak english well. So, excuse me if my question has been answered before or if you can't understand me well.
    My question is:
    Could I make two "index pages", each one targeting different keywords, but both linking to the same pages of the site.
    In my site, I'm thinking to make another page, with the main target keyword as the name of the page, and targeting different keywords than the actual index page. The links in that new page would point to the same pages the actual index page now points.
    Say it would be two "entry" points to the site.
    Is it bad?
    If both pages where almost identical, would it be duplicate content?

The site I'm speaking:
    http://www.telefonica.net/web2/sanabara/lyon

sanabara, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  2. DangerMouse

DangerMouse Peon

Best Answers:
    If they're *almost identical* then, yes. It's up to you to change the content of the pages to make sure this doesn't happen - if you're targeting different phrases then the content should be different anyway! Make sure both pages are linked up and I think it should be fine...

DangerMouse, Feb 8, 2005 IP
  3. ViciousSummer

ViciousSummer Ayn Rand for President! Staff

Best Answers: