1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Trouble upgrading SMF 1.1.3 to 1.1.4

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by bluearrow, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. #1
    When I try to upgrade it by giving it FTP details I get this error msg. " 530 Login authentication failed ". User name and password is correct. Any ideas ? :(



    .
    SEMrush
     
    bluearrow, Dec 6, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #2
    it seems your upgrading your forum using a package from SMF and your doing it like a mod, which is ok.

    are you sure your giving the correct ftp info?
     
    sawz, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  3. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #3
    yes FTP info are correct.
     
    bluearrow, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  4. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #4
    ok, change the permission on the Packages folder to 777
    inside that folder is a file called installed.list
    chmod that 777 and try again, let me know how it works out for you.
     
    sawz, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  5. trocobob

    trocobob Banned

    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    48
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    check if your Loging and pass infos are corect in your admin panel
     
    trocobob, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  6. Agent_Smith

    Agent_Smith Active Member

    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #6
    Your ftp username / password is incorrect. Try re-entering it carefully :)
     
    Agent_Smith, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  7. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #7
    i'm guessing neither one of you saw the OP's last post:

     
    sawz, Dec 7, 2007 IP
    Shazz likes this.
  8. spiky1471

    spiky1471 Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    you have given the correct host etc
     
    spiky1471, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  9. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #9
    I tried it and still giving the same error :(

    FTP Server:localhost
     
    bluearrow, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  10. Agent_Smith

    Agent_Smith Active Member

    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #10
    I did. He's wrong or has a server issue. It's not going to tell you your login information is incorrect if it was?

    So either he has entered it wrong or has previously changed, hes entering the wrong hostname etc or software issue.
     
    Agent_Smith, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  11. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #11
    this is my profile at SMF.
    if you want me to have a look, i will.
    just PM me and we'll get this sorted out. :D
     
    sawz, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  12. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #12
    PM'ed u , see what you can do :)
     
    bluearrow, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  13. Agent_Smith

    Agent_Smith Active Member

    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #13
    Please let us know what the error(s) were if you fix it ;)
     
    Agent_Smith, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  14. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #14
    well it seems you all were correct and i was wrong.

    using the supplied forum admin info and ftp info,
    i upgraded his forum, clickety click.

    what i neglected to tell him was his database may need upgrading.
    i suggest you access your database and click on smf_settings, then Browse them and the first entry will be version number. be sure its current at 1.1.4

    in fact, download an upgrade package from SMF and upgrade your forum, your template files are still at 1.1.2
     
    sawz, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  15. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #15
    I just don't get how it happened I mean i had tried more than 20 times using all that info i sent you. But anyway Im glad its done.

    I have another question now i have my previous smf db backup which i took from cpanel. which is the best way to restore it ?

    .
     
    bluearrow, Dec 8, 2007 IP
    sawz likes this.
  16. sawz

    sawz Prominent Member

    Messages:
    8,227
    Likes Received:
    808
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #16
    access your db through phpmyadmin, drop all the tables in the database and import your new database.
     
    sawz, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  17. bluearrow

    bluearrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #17
    Thanks. Something I noticed is some button icons are not working only links are displayed.

    .
     
    bluearrow, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  18. Agent_Smith

    Agent_Smith Active Member

    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #18
    Im glad you managed to fix it :)
     
    Agent_Smith, Dec 8, 2007 IP
    sawz likes this.