1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Tracking PageRank...

Discussion in 'Keyword Tracker' started by digitalpoint, Mar 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. #1
    I've been debating about adding the ability to track PageRank historically under the back link tracker section. Any thoughts on this? Would anyone care? Or is it just a waste of time?
    SEMrush
    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 4, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. hasitruparel

    hasitruparel Peon

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Hello Shawn,

    I would surely care!

    thanks, Hasit
     
    hasitruparel, Mar 5, 2004 IP
  3. sofia12

    sofia12 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    #3
    Yes, would definitely love to have that feature.


     
    sofia12, Mar 8, 2004 IP
  4. irish_ladie

    irish_ladie Guest

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    That would be really great !!
     
    irish_ladie, Mar 14, 2004 IP
  5. Mr T

    Mr T Guest

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Yes that would be good - if they ever update the toolbar :(
     
    Mr T, Mar 14, 2004 IP
  6. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,788
    Likes Received:
    3,655
    Best Answers:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    665
    #6
    I'd like to see it!

    A question, you might not want to give the game away...

    Would this page http://www.markusallen.org/cgi-bin/rank.pl be using the api or some other tool?

    I'd like to be able to list a series of pages and see their PR at a glance.

    Sarah
     
    sarahk, Mar 14, 2004 IP
  7. Smyrl

    Smyrl Tomato Republic Staff

    Messages:
    13,500
    Likes Received:
    1,543
    Best Answers:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    510
    #7
    Bring it on! Another great idea. For some of us it may indicate we lost a link from high ranking site.

    Shannon Smyrl
     
    Smyrl, Mar 19, 2004 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #8
    The Google API doesn't have the ability to get the PageRank, so it would be external of that. PageRank is terribly difficult to get without the toolbar because of the checksum Google has within it. You need to be able to calculate the checksum (which is unique for every URL) in order to get the PageRank.

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 19, 2004 IP
  9. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    My two cents - I think being able to track PR would be a great tool.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Mar 19, 2004 IP
  10. hulkster

    hulkster Peon

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Another "me-too" from the peanut gallery Shawn! ;-)

    BTW, we've seen a number of these pop up recently - did Google recently "soften" the checksum algorithm and/or I assume that someone reverse-engineered it? Being a "geek", I'd be interested in the details if those are shareable.

    Also, I thought I had read there is a TOS (Terms of Service) issue with doing automated Page Rank Queries outside of their toolbar - am I mistaken and/or is that no longer the case?

    Thanx,
    alek
     
    hulkster, Mar 25, 2004 IP
  11. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #11
    The checksum algorithm was not softened, but you are right... there are people that have reverse engineered it in raw assembly (I'm not one of them BTW).

    If PageRank numbers are added to the keyword tracker, it definitely will not be me making the toolbar queries.

    Beyond that, I don't want to get *too* much in depth on it until it's actually added to the keyword tracker (if at all).

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 25, 2004 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #12
    It has been done...

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 25, 2004 IP
  13. hulkster

    hulkster Peon

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    93
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    hulkster, Mar 25, 2004 IP
  14. candysmith

    candysmith trying not to be evil

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    88
    #14
    Great idea Shawn! You are my hero, I told you before I love your tools & they help me more than I can explain here.
     
    candysmith, Mar 26, 2004 IP
  15. novasoft

    novasoft Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    But from what i hear you need the google toolbar installed on the webserver and you need to be able to crack the encrypted variable that google demands when you make a request to the xml file that holds the Page Rank.
    Id love to know how you cracked that one ;)

    I have found a windows based tool that does that finds high PR pages for you, but not a web based one as yethttp://www.mrbiz.net/p.php?user=34&c=prp
     
    novasoft, Apr 20, 2004 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #16
    Well, it definitely doesn't have the toolbar on it (it's a Linux server). :)

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 20, 2004 IP
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.