1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

to www or not to www - in google land

Discussion in 'Apache' started by iMacFlats, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. #1
    Okay...

    So, something is haywire with my site and google. Recently, via the Google toolbar, my "www.domain.com" lost PR, not us a 0, but all together, a big fat n/a. My "domain.com" still has the same PR. My "www.domain.com/forums" has page rank has a 3 point higher page rank than "www.domain.com/forums/index.php". GO FIGURE. Same page.

    What I have noticed is Google no longer is caching "www.domain.com", in fact if you do a "inurl:www.domain.com" it just shows the forums, my main page does not exist anymore. But inurl:domain.com, it shows up.

    What is going on? All incoming links that I am aware of link to "www.domain.com" and not "domain.com". Do you force everyone to use a given domain, this way you don't have duplicate content in Google cache?
     
    iMacFlats, Jul 1, 2005 IP
  2. seodelhi

    seodelhi Active Member

    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #2
    Can you post the URL of your site, its difficult to tell from the info you posted.
     
    seodelhi, Jul 1, 2005 IP
  3. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #3
    Actually, those are two (2) separate and unique URLs.

    I would suggest redirecting, via 301, one URL version to the other.
     
    ResaleBroker, Jul 1, 2005 IP
  4. iMacFlats

    iMacFlats Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    #4
    I have setup a mod_rewrite to redirect any domain.com to www.domain.com. So, hopefully that works out. Did the 301 type. I have over 200,000 urls cached.
     
    iMacFlats, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  5. Old Welsh Guy

    Old Welsh Guy Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    291
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #5
    Here is the perfect code to use on apache of course ;)


    Options +FollowSymLinks
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^yourdomain\.com
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.yourdomain.com/$1 [R=permanent,L]

    That will send any request for any page on one domain, directly to the other.
     
    Old Welsh Guy, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  6. iMacFlats

    iMacFlats Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    #6
    Will your code not give any 301/302 errors then?
     
    iMacFlats, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  7. iMacFlats

    iMacFlats Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    98
    #7
    Here is what I am using now:

    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.domain\.com
    RewriteRule (.*) http://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]
     
    iMacFlats, Jul 2, 2005 IP
  8. Old Welsh Guy

    Old Welsh Guy Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    291
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #8
    The code I posted will give you a 301 redirect in a header check.
     
    Old Welsh Guy, Jul 2, 2005 IP