1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Tips and Suggestions in Joomla

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by Rankx, Apr 21, 2013.

Hi guys,

I've been using Joomla for almost 5 years now and I have completed many websites in Joomla. I just wanted to share some knowledge with any developers or others that would find it beneficial.

Firstly there are a few extensions that I always install because I know I would need them.
    • Admin Tools - Great security features
    • Akeeba Backup - Always want to backup the site and be able to restore
    • JCK Editor or JCE Editor (another editor of your choice is fine, i hate the default)
    • Modules Anywhere - This always comes in handy
    Based on what you want to do you will need specific components for those. Typical functions you would need are:
    • Slideshow - I use LV Enhanced Image slider, DJ Image Slider or Slideshow Ck
    • Newsletter/Subscription - ACYMailing
    • Searchbox - Rokajax search
    • Article Summary - News Pro Gk4
    • Modal pop up boxes - Fancy Pop up, Modalizer and a lot more
    • Drop down Menu - Maximenu CK
    Of course there would be more to this list which I am sure we can discuss later on. Here is a common situation you might come across when building your site.
    Say you have a sidebar that you do not want appearing on every page of your site. Where you do not want to have the sidebar appearing you want the width of the content area to be 100%. There might be other ways to deal with this but this is what I do.
    First, you need to be able to control which pages you want the sidebar appearing on. So you use a module position to control that. So before the opening div of your sidebar you would say.