1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

ThumbNails on Directories

Discussion in 'Directories' started by Dubz, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. #1
    As most of us already know thumbnails aren't working the traditional way.
    SEMrush
    I'm aware of thumbshots.org but they need a sitewide linkback or 25$ fee and then a monthly charge which for my site would be ~20-50$ not sure yet...

    Any free alternatives? Thumbnails are cool but they just got really expensive for what they are.

    I'll pay if I have to but being a diligent business man if I can go free / cheaper I would like to explore those options first.

    Thanks in advance,
    Rob
     
    Dubz, Dec 6, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mikey1090

    mikey1090 Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    445
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #2
    you could hire someone to go through your listings and perhaps pay $1 for every 50 manual screenshots and re-sizes taken.

    That could be done every 6 months. Just a stab in the dark at being unique:)
     
    mikey1090, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  3. an0n

    an0n Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,688
    Likes Received:
    913
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    360
    #3
    been there done that. p0w!
     
    an0n, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  4. YMC

    YMC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    404
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #4
    When Alexa went to paid, it should have become obvious that the free ride for screenshots was over.

    I don't like the idea of my site being so dependent on someone else, so I did my own from day 1 (even before the Alexa change) - one of the best decisions I've made. Yes, it does take more time to get a site up, but it's worth it.

    I saw a new directory yesterday that had pictures with each listing and at the time of submission asked for an upload of a picture. Don't know if it is broken or folks just weren't bothering to do it, but I didn't see a single listing with a picture. Will be interesting to see if and when my sites get accepted if they use my pix. My one complaint was that they did not list anywhere on the site guidelines for picture size.
     
    YMC, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  5. threebuckchuck

    threebuckchuck Peon

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    You can take a look at this thread . . . http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=582006.

    I changed mine to http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showpost.php?p=5456847&postcount=22 and asked a question about that service here . . . http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showpost.php?p=5469348&postcount=40

    Hope that helps :D

    Also, An0n, what version of phpLD has the little tick box? :D
     
    threebuckchuck, Dec 6, 2007 IP
    pipes likes this.
  6. mikey1090

    mikey1090 Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    445
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #6
    mikey1090, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  7. swedal

    swedal Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,768
    Likes Received:
    427
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #7
    I switched my thumb nails over to a new service the same day girafa went down... Seems to be working well so far
     
    swedal, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  8. Dubz

    Dubz Peon

    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    156
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Wow. Anyone know someone that does 50 for $1?? lol send me a pm!
     
    Dubz, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  9. malcolm1

    malcolm1 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,148
    Likes Received:
    758
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #9
    Alexa offers this as well... like 000.5 cents or something...

    Iwebtool also has thumbshots...

    Evidently MSN -girafe isnt available anymore now so...

    thx
    malcolm
     
    malcolm1, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  10. Dubz

    Dubz Peon

    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    156
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Sounds good! Thanks alot Malcolm.:D

     
    Dubz, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  11. enQuira

    enQuira Peon

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    250
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Now that's a high paying job. :eek:
    I am thinking about setting up a thumbshots server, I didn't have time to look more in details lately.

    You should remember that you have to multiply this by the number of listings in a page and the number of pageviews. so for 1000 pageviews and 20 listings per page, you have to pay for 20K thumbnails,... I tried the paid service for a very small niche directory and I ended up paying ~25 a month.
     
    enQuira, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  12. threebuckchuck

    threebuckchuck Peon

    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Maybe I'm missing something here but why would you want to pay for something you can get for nothing?

    I switched over to the Adbrite solution and for one thing, it's a lot faster than the MSN one was and it's still FREE!

    If anyone knows anything about the TOS of this service, please let me know. I couldn't find a thing about it so I think we're good.
     
    threebuckchuck, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  13. enQuira

    enQuira Peon

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    250
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I am not familiar with their tos but from looking at the url of the image http:// files.adbrite.com/httpads/alexa_thumbnail.php?url=http://www.google.com
    They are using the alexa service, which is paid. There is certainly a problem with their implementation.
     
    enQuira, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  14. Ibn Juferi

    Ibn Juferi Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,221
    Likes Received:
    365
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #14
    Perhaps someone can come up with a mod using an internal tool so that this can be done automatically, instead of relying on third-party engines?
     
    Ibn Juferi, Dec 6, 2007 IP
  15. malcolm1

    malcolm1 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,148
    Likes Received:
    758
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #15
    That would be very nice option as it stinks having to rely on any 3rd party :)

    thx
    malcolm
     
    malcolm1, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  16. enQuira

    enQuira Peon

    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    250
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    no way as this is not feasible with php.
     
    enQuira, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  17. humm

    humm बहादुर बच्चा

    Messages:
    4,348
    Likes Received:
    850
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #17
    humm, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  18. mikey1090

    mikey1090 Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    445
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #18
    yeah i know, i had already checked into this. Just wondering how sites like browsercam operate. Wonder if they capture the image on a desktop PC and it gets ported into a webserver accessed by asp. Who knows...
     
    mikey1090, Dec 7, 2007 IP
  19. MeetHere

    MeetHere Prominent Member

    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    994
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    330
  20. mikey1090

    mikey1090 Moderator Staff

    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    445
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #20
    i think almost all of us are hosted on linux servers.
     
    mikey1090, Dec 7, 2007 IP