1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.
  2. Better Analytics for WordPress Get It Free

Thumbnails creation software without installation

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by Connect, Aug 19, 2005.

  1. #1
    Is there any software that can create batch thumbnails (auto resize, etc) and without the need to install/setup? This is because I don't really like installing a software that I may not use that often, it slows down the PC.
     
    Connect, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  2. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Do you have photoshop?

    You know, you can also uninstall software.
     
    Crazy_Rob, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  3. Connect

    Connect Guest

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I have Photoshop, and I know I can automate photoshop to generate a web photo gallery.

    However, I am looking for a lighter program, just to resize thumbnails for me. Once a program is setup in Windows, uninstalling them might leave traces (such as dll, etc) which make the system slow.
     
    Connect, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  4. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    PS can batch re-size images.

    But good luck finding what you're looking for. :D
     
    Crazy_Rob, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  5. tansks

    tansks Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    #5
    Try this thumbshots.org
     
    tansks, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  6. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I don't get it. You have photoshop, which will batch resize in the blink of an eye and you don't want to use it? Someone help me here, I'm just not quite able to grasp this one.
     
    mopacfan, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  7. Connect

    Connect Guest

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I have been using Photoshop's Web Photo Gallery to resize images. But this is a bit heavy because I don't need the html pages. I just need a simple tool to resize images for me.

    Is there another batch resize feature in Photoshop that I may have missed?
     
    Connect, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  8. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    You just create an action that re-sizes your image and then batch it.
     
    Crazy_Rob, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  9. Connect

    Connect Guest

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    All right, will look into that, not very good in Photoshop :)
     
    Connect, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  10. hasbehas

    hasbehas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #10
    I use http://www.jklnsoft.com/ 's bath image resizer.. unless you are planning to more than 20 or some thing at once, this is fine.. :cool:
     
    hasbehas, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  11. Swordfish

    Swordfish Active Member

    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #11
    you can create an action in photoshop to do the thumbnails in seconds.. I have an action I made, PM me and I'll e-mail it to you if you know how to load the action.
     
    Swordfish, Aug 19, 2005 IP
  12. YianG

    YianG Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I'm not sure if I understand this. Why would hard drive space be releated to your computer's speed?
     
    YianG, Aug 27, 2005 IP
  13. Connect

    Connect Guest

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    The more software you install on a PC, somehow the slower the PC become. Probably those software put settings in the registry, maybe load some dll during Windows startup, or maybe just make the hard disk fragmented, etc...
     
    Connect, Aug 27, 2005 IP
  14. YianG

    YianG Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I see. Thanks for clearing that up.

    I seem to recall a function in Frontpage that does that for you. It only works if you have Microsoft Frontpage, that is. Just put all the images you want to create as thumbnail into a new page, and select them all, and hit ctrl+t and they will be thumbnailed to the size according to the settings.

    The quality and size control isn't superb with this, though. I go with an action from Photoshop, too.

    Swordfish, could you e-mail me yours as well? I would like to see how you do it.
     
    YianG, Aug 27, 2005 IP
  15. macdesign

    macdesign Peon

    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    60
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I happen to be updating a site in FP200 as I read this post, and it does seem to have a thumbnail feature. But I'm not sure how usefull it is.

    It's also not clear if the original question is related to creating a thumbnail of a graphics image which is what would be done with FP or Photo Shop --or-- it was for a thumbnail of the home page of a web site - which is what thumbshots.org provides.

    I was looking for software to do the latter task several months ago, and did not find any at the time.
     
    macdesign, Aug 28, 2005 IP
  16. VelocitySC

    VelocitySC Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16

    Use Velocity Webshots Sandbox and do it right online from your browser.
     
    VelocitySC, Feb 13, 2006 IP