1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

The reality and myths (not just about the Page Rank) And how useless Digital Point is

Discussion in 'Keyword Tracker' started by medhahari, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. #1
    I have just looked at the keyword ("bharatanatyam") rank for http://medha.info

    The Digital Point's tool says it is #7. Good.

    Now go to Google.com, search for "bharatanatyam", and you will NOT see http://medha.info in search results there.

    Funny, isn't it?:confused:

    Page rank for medha.info is... "0", by the way :eek:
    SEMrush
     
    medhahari, Sep 4, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Owlcroft

    Owlcroft Peon

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    It would be uproarious, except that when I search Google for that term, that site is . . . #7.

    I guess I'm missing the joke. Or maybe Google is.
     
    Owlcroft, Sep 4, 2004 IP
    minstrel and Fishing Forum like this.
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,326
    Likes Received:
    2,614
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #3
    Shows as #7 for me if I search Google manually.
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 5, 2004 IP
  4. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #4
    My guess is it was google.co.in rather than google.com -- that might account for the discrepancy. Or you're accessing a different datacenter?
     
    minstrel, Sep 5, 2004 IP
  5. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Are you sure you actually use a computer? When I use my Acabus it also omits medha.info.....

    If so are you sure it can disply G results?

    I see p7 and a PR of 2 BUT if you would have read a bit on the forum you would know that without mod_rewrite or correct DNS entries www.mydomai.com may well show different G results than mydomain.com

    Thus your PR is showing on www.mydomain.com. Funny old world isn't it?

    http://in.geocities.com/medhahari/index.html

    Also framed development ? Hidden text with pic's overlayed? on Geocity?
    You should no even exist....
    Sites like this one sour the experience for everyone on the net
    M

    PS And I do get an error on the page........
     
    expat, Sep 5, 2004 IP
  6. H-Man

    H-Man Peon

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    worked form me too. # 7
     
    H-Man, Sep 5, 2004 IP
  7. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    This guy is the champion of Numbskulls, I thought I was bad, second post after joining a new forum and he calls the place useless :eek:
     
    anthonycea, Sep 5, 2004 IP
  8. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    For a good example of useless please see: http://medhahari.com/ :rolleyes:
     
    GuyFromChicago, Sep 5, 2004 IP
    minstrel likes this.
  9. bobafind

    bobafind Peon

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I haven't seen something that shady since back the warez-top100 days

    *shudder*

    On a dialup connection, when the pictures started loading it really freaked me out.
     
    bobafind, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  10. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    How come his reputation is still green?
     
    T0PS3O, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  11. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Because you start off with a positive reputation of 10 by default
     
    SEbasic, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  12. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,219
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I know but looking at how quick Anthony got slacked off a few months ago I'd expected this evil thread starter to be down the drain in no time. Some of us have -2 voting power so I thought he'd be black in now time.
     
    T0PS3O, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  13. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Who is it that has -2 then?

    Is it a post count thing?
     
    SEbasic, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  14. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    GuyFromChicago, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  15. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,317
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Oh OK, so I need either 1000 posts, 100 reputation points, or have been registered for a year.

    Got you now.

    Cheers for that.
     
    SEbasic, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  16. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Lets put it this way, it is subject to great abuse, they vote me out (a DP gang) then I can't even vote against them.

    To tell you the truth, this is one of the only (well there are a couple more or maybe one) bad things I see at DP.
     
    anthonycea, Sep 6, 2004 IP
    mxlabs likes this.
  17. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    It's democracy at work. Surely you don't oppose freedom of coice?
     
    GuyFromChicago, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  18. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Not quite, I can't PM my fellow voters to try to get them to vote against someone that I can't win an argument with.

    Most elections give one vote and all the votes are counted, except in places like Florida where your brother is governor.

    We would not have a similar scene here would we?
     
    anthonycea, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  19. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Everyone starts off on an even playing field in terms of reputation. The fact that you lost a lot of your forum privlages may say something about how burst onto the scene here at DP. I don't think anyone else has reputation issues.

    You're coming around though, I see positive votes comeing your way ;) The day you get live linking back we'll have a little party in your honor :D
     
    GuyFromChicago, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  20. anthonycea

    anthonycea Banned

    Messages:
    13,378
    Likes Received:
    342
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Don't wait around for me to change to get live linking permissions here or you will turn to dust before it happens.

    Question, who is trying to piss who off in this thread :confused:
     
    anthonycea, Sep 6, 2004 IP
    minstrel likes this.