1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Sub-Domain redirecting

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by degreubiwa, Oct 26, 2016.

  1. #1
    When I open the sub-domain just added in cPanel it gets redirected to CGI-Bin webpage and the structure of url looks like this - brand (dot) xyz (dot) com/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi
    SEMrush
    I want it to display files from the sub-domain directory. How to perform this?
     
    degreubiwa, Oct 26, 2016 IP
    SEMrush
  2. billzo

    billzo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    278
    Best Answers:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    113
    #2
    You do have a default page in the subdirector folder? cPanel should set up the subdomain in the DNS (if you are using the server's DNS) so if you have a default page (index.html, index.php, etc.), it should show.
     
    billzo, Oct 26, 2016 IP
  3. degreubiwa

    degreubiwa Banned

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    #3
    I added the index.html page and content in it but it was not showing.
     
    degreubiwa, Oct 26, 2016 IP
  4. th.sigit

    th.sigit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #4
    On your cpanel account, where is the document root of your subdomain: is it brand.xyz.com or /public_html/brand ?

    Examples:

    Subdomain: brand
    Domain: xyz.com
    Document Root: brand.xyz.com
    Code (markup):
    Subdomain: brand
    Domain: xyz.com
    Document Root: /public_html/brand
    Code (markup):
     
    th.sigit, Oct 27, 2016 IP
  5. StackNetwork

    StackNetwork Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #5
    Delete "cgi-bin" folder from your sub-domain directory and wait for browser cache to be cleared or force clear them.
     
    StackNetwork, Oct 27, 2016 IP
  6. degreubiwa

    degreubiwa Banned

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    #6
    I already tried that, seems like a redirect issue in .htaccess

    Is there a way to ignore all sub-domains for redirect in .htaccess?
     
    degreubiwa, Oct 28, 2016 IP
  7. HATCHEX

    HATCHEX Greenhorn

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    #7
    Delete all the files from the subdomain folder, also check htaccess file in it.
     
    HATCHEX, Jan 30, 2017 IP
  8. Svetoslav Penchev

    Svetoslav Penchev Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #8
    The best solution - get a hosting with cPanel, where you will have the ability to create such redirects with 2-3 clicks. NextPointHost shared hosting provides such service.
     
    Svetoslav Penchev, Feb 2, 2017 IP