1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Stop submit button being pressed until enough words are written in text area.

Discussion in 'PHP' started by kriiv, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. #1
    So basically what I want is for the submit button to be disabled until a certain word count has been reached in the text area.

    I have had a look around and tried to find ways to do it, with no luck.

    Any tips or help?

    Thanks!
    SEMrush
     
    kriiv, Sep 21, 2012 IP
    SEMrush
  2. plussy

    plussy Peon

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    That has nothing to do with PHP. That is all done via javascript. So next time please post in the correct board.

    
    <textarea style="width: 300px; height: 300xp;" id="text" onkeydown="checkWordCount();"></textarea>
    <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Submit" id="submit" disabled />
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function checkWordCount() {
    	var wordCount = document.getElementById('text').value.split(" ").length;
    	
    	if (wordCount > 10) {
    		document.getElementById('submit').disabled = false;
    	}
    	else {
    		document.getElementById('submit').disabled = true;
    	}
    }
    
    
    </script>
    
    Code (markup):
     
    plussy, Sep 21, 2012 IP
  3. Poppers

    Poppers Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #3
    As above, it is done with Javascript - HOWEVER, I would recommend a PHP backup measure too to check the field for the desired length, as after all the user could have Javascript disabled ;)
     
    Poppers, Sep 21, 2012 IP
  4. plussy

    plussy Peon

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    That is true but in this day and age only a very very small number of people have javascript disabled.
     
    plussy, Sep 21, 2012 IP
  5. gigpayrr

    gigpayrr Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    quick solution would be as plussy explained. good piece of code
     
    gigpayrr, Sep 26, 2012 IP
  6. RaPeRbOy

    RaPeRbOy Active Member

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #6
    You can only do this using JavaScript. Also, make a php check, because javascript can be disabled.
     
    RaPeRbOy, Oct 3, 2012 IP
  7. HungryMinds

    HungryMinds Active Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    #7
    Use the javascript code which is submitted by "plussy". Then after submitting re-check in php.
     
    HungryMinds, Oct 3, 2012 IP