1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Statically Typed Versus Dynamically Typed Languages

Discussion in 'Programming' started by serialentre, Sep 14, 2015.

Hi all,

Is there an advantage of Statically Typed over Dynamically Typed, and vice versa?

Came across this article recently - http://fsharpforfunandprofit.com/posts/ten-reasons-not-to-use-a-functional-programming-language/

serialentre, Sep 14, 2015 IP
  2. mmerlinn

mmerlinn Prominent Member

Best Answers:
    I read that article and it leaves me totally confused.

I started programming 31 years ago with Apple Basic. All variable names were statically typed, for example the names of all strings ended in $, like Title$ = "The Mouse". Title$ could never be anything except a string, never logical, never numeric.

Today, I do most of my programming in FoxPro, which uses dynamic typing depending on what is assigned to the variable. For example, by doing Title = "The Mouse", Title is dynamically designated as a string. If I later say, Title = 1, we now have Title defined as a number. Basically, any variable name can be any type at any time only depending on what is assigned to it.

Now if that is what the article was dancing around and if your question is about the advantages/disadvantages of each, then here is my take.

Static typing (#1 above) - Very rigid. Makes for easy assimilation of exactly what kind of variables we are working with. Very easy to debug when I had 'Mismatched type' errors. A pain in the butt to always remember to add the correct type symbol to every variable name. Impossible to assign a number to any other type of variable, for example.