1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

SPEED - working with Drupal

Discussion in 'Drupal' started by acw, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. #1
    Hi all,

    I am learning "drupal gardens" as my 1rst platform to learn before i go into FULL DRUPAL.

    I have noticed the speed to make changes to a Mock Website that i am building in DG, is very slow !

    Dayum ! ! !

    ...its so slow to make changes using the Drupalgardens.com website server !

    Does the speed of working on Drupal Gardens ever change?

    Do I have to always work on their server to make changes to my DG website?

    Any suggestions to make the process faster?

    thanks in advance!

    ~T
     
    acw, Dec 9, 2011 IP
  2. aap

    aap Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #2
    Just to learn drupal, I don't think you need a account at Drupalgardens.com

    Simply install WAMP / XAMPP on your computer to make it a local server with PHP and mySQL.
    And install Drupal / WordPress / Joomla / custom php script etc and start playing with it.

    Your local server will be very fast and easy to learn and make changes.
     
    aap, Dec 9, 2011 IP
  3. acw

    acw Active Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #3
    Hey Thanks aap,

    Just learning Gardens first....as i understand its a good base to learn...and then STEP UP to the higher level program DRUPAL.

    I have Hostgator as my webprovider...and was told they R Drupal Capable.

    QUESTION
    Why do i need to install PHP and mySQL?

    ~T



     
    acw, Dec 10, 2011 IP
  4. guardian999

    guardian999 Member

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #4
    good base to learn is your LOCALHOST.
    your need install PHP and MYSQL or use XAMPP/WAMP
     
    guardian999, Dec 10, 2011 IP
  5. acw

    acw Active Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #5
    I'm confused...?

    to learn Drupal...you are suggesting LOCALHOST ?

    ...and install PHP and MYSQL?

    WHY ?


     
    acw, Dec 10, 2011 IP
  6. msam029

    msam029 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    make the fuctions into a file and include it
     
    msam029, Dec 11, 2011 IP
  7. acw

    acw Active Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #7
    Interesting ! ! !

    ? ? ? ? ?

     
    acw, Dec 12, 2011 IP
  8. aap

    aap Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #8
    LocalHost -> A local server with PHP and mySQL on your computer.

    Just install WAMP / XAMPP on your computer and it will automatically install and configure PHP , MYSQL etc on your computer.

    A local server is best to learn Drupal or any PHP script like wordpress, joomla, phpbb, mybb etc...
     
    aap, Dec 12, 2011 IP
  9. acw

    acw Active Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #9
    Thanks dudes....When i get to "Drupal"....i will use this technique.

    Right now...i am learning "Drupal Gardens" and i don't think this will help.

    I don't "think???" that installing PHP, MYSQL on my machine will speed up the upload time or changes needed to be made in DG.

    thnks again...

    Please...read the original question at top of post....thanks!
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
    acw, Dec 13, 2011 IP
  10. msam029

    msam029 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    confusing :)

    with out Lamp wamp or Manp how are u working on drupal
     
    msam029, Dec 13, 2011 IP
  11. acw

    acw Active Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #11
    Not sure you guys are getting this....drupal gardens is the scaled down version of drupal. You can use it without loading WAMP, or any of those other programs.
     
    acw, Dec 13, 2011 IP
  12. JamesColin

    JamesColin Prominent Member

    Messages:
    7,825
    Likes Received:
    161
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    345
    Digital Goods:
    1
    #12
    because if you install (very easy) the mysql/php/apache bundle on your pc, you can learn drupal (with whatever tutorial you want) very quickly, because everytime you press a button you won't have to wait for the internet, it will happen very quickly on your computer.. As you're learning you'll click on thousands of button, often the same ones, so by not having to wait at all, it will remove some of the frustration in learning.
     
    JamesColin, Dec 15, 2011 IP