1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

some significant query help, please

Discussion in 'MySQL' started by glennnall, Sep 24, 2016.

firstly, I am not a db programmer. I ply my trade on WordPress stuff, but not in-depth db structuring from scratch. please keep that in mind as I do my best to ask this question? :rolleyes:

I have two tables that I think will almost, kinda do what I want, which is an outline like this, only MUCH bigger:
    • Phillips pid1
      • Barnes pid2
        • Moore pid3
          • de Mohrenschildt pid4
            • Oswald pid5
      • Hunt pid6
        • Sturgis pid7
          • Moore pid3
    This is a (very lengthy) outline I've created in html that simply shows:

Phillips (knows) » Barnes (supervised) » Moore (supervised) » de Mohrenschildt (knows) » Oswald ...

AS WELL AS, Phillips (knows) » Hunt (knows) » Sturgis (followed, who also knows) » Moore (same one, pid3) ...

I put Sturgis followed by Moore specifically to show that these relationships are in no way numerically sequential. There will be 4 or 5 hundred Persons, (and 40 or 50 Organizations, once I get this solved).

You can see an example of it here (there's lots of data going on in this outline):
    http://stemmonsfreeway.com/military-industrial-intelligence-anti-castro-syndicated/

So I have these tables:

[persons]
        id, name             
    -----------------
        1   Phillips
        2   Barnes
        3   Moore
        4   de Mohrenschildt
        5   Oswald
        6   Hunt
        7   Sturgis

[assocs]
       p_id, a_id
    ----------------
        1     2
        2     3
        3     4
        4     5
        1     6
        6     7
        7     3

Code (markup):
    and this query: