1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

solid or liquid design?

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by miko67, Apr 5, 2005.

I'm just starting out on a 4-new-websites-in-a-row journey and I'm wondering what design frame to use.

I used to make everything solid 800*600 (approximately) so just about everybody can see it, leaving me with most control over appearances.

Now I'm wondering if I should either "migrate" to a classic two or three column liquid design that fills out the screen, or

make a new solid design scheeme that fits with 1024*768px. This due to the fact that the smaller screen sizes are hastly disappearing.

Please let me have your own favourite opinion about template style, design and size

Also - and most urgently - if I decide on the last option, what sizes are optimal when you have to take in to account the browser menu and such?

If there's too much rambling here it's partly due to the fact that I need to go to bed now. Trying to keep up both full time accounting job and part time webmastering (which allways seem to end up taking a lot more time than I got these days... oh, my poor kids :( )

miko67, Apr 5, 2005 IP
  2. skattabrain

skattabrain Peon

Best Answers:
    it's really about audience if you go solid (or fixed). if you run a gaming site ... 1024 is fine. but judging by the links in your sig ... i would tend to think you have a more mature audience. if that's the case ... design for 800 x 600 as many older people with eye sight not as sharp as it used to be, will set the monitors to this res.

i have done liquid sites ... but if you are into pixel perfection, it can get to be more trouble than i feel it's worth.