1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

So can I handle an unmanaged VPS, really?

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by GAdsense, Nov 5, 2015.

Hello,

I'd like to host my new Wordpress blog with an Unmanaged VPS, because of super blazing speed.
    But the real question is can I handle an unmanaged VPS?, specially with no prior linux server administration at all.

I have extensive experience with Wordpress blogging, setting up plugins and cPanel. But it frightens me to try an unmanaged VPS however I am up for the challenge if it's doable and not so time taking.

Have any one of you tried this? Thinking about Linode, DigitalOcean or AfterBurst.

GAdsense, Nov 5, 2015 IP
  2. billzo

billzo Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    You will spend a lot of time searching for information. Do you have the time to learn?

If you are doing something important and make money from your websites, I would not recommend an unmanaged VPS (and if you do an unmanaged, WHM/cPanel will be helpful to you) without any experience. If you are not doing something important and want to learn and play a bit, then go for it.

If you want to learn what managing a server (or VPS) is like, you can download a copy of VirtualBox and install the Linux OS of your choice and practice and learn on a virtualized Linux OS running within your computer's current OS. You can find out what managing a server will be like, updating and installing software, and maybe you will run into problems and find out what it is like to try and solve them.

So you can find out what it will be like to manage your own server before you actually purchase a VPS plan if you download VirtualBox and install a Linux distribution.