1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Sitemaps suddenly broken in Google WebMaster Tools??

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by KVeil, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. #1
    Since yesterday the sitemaps on two of my sites show an error in Google's WMT:
    SEMrush
    Neither the site nor the sitemap (http://www.Style4BG.com/sitemap.xml) have changed in the last 6 weeks...

    What is going on? :confused:

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 25, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. dairyman

    dairyman Notable Member

    Messages:
    7,224
    Likes Received:
    274
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #2
    I advice you to generate a fresh xml code for the problematic site and then submit to google. Let's see whether it works?
     
    dairyman, Jan 26, 2008 IP
  3. bigbluesky2006

    bigbluesky2006 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #3
    I'm having the same problem. I'm showing an error for 4 out of the 12 sites I have listed in GWT.

    I tried generating a new sitemap but get the same error. Not sure what the problem is but it's beginning to drive me crazy! :(
     
    bigbluesky2006, Jan 26, 2008 IP
  4. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #4
    @diaryman: I had already tried regenerating the XML before I made the post...

    @bigbluesky2006: the two sites continue to show the same error - now a third has joined them :(

    From an initial analysis of the WMT error message, it would seem that Google's sitemap parser is looking for a "required" <mobile> XML tag within the <url> </url> tags ...

    I have not seen a <mobile> XML tag documented anywhere in Google's WMT or on http://www.sitemap.org...

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 29, 2008 IP
  5. bigbluesky2006

    bigbluesky2006 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #5
    It's now come up on 6 of my 12 sites. The interesting thing is it has come up on all the sites where sitemaps were submitted recently. The sites where the sitemaps are a month or more old are not showing an error.
     
    bigbluesky2006, Jan 29, 2008 IP
  6. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #6
    For me it has come up on a site whose sitemap was submitted Sept. 2007 as well as sites where I had re-submitted the maps a few days ago ...

    Hallo, goooogle ...

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 29, 2008 IP
  7. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #7
    Done more research - seems only the site-maps that list only one URL appear to be affected... :confused:

    Google XML sitemap parser problems???

    K
     
    KVeil, Jan 30, 2008 IP
  8. verticity

    verticity Active Member

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    #8
    use this site :
    www .xml-sitemaps . com
    for creating sitemap. I hve also made a sitemap using this site for my personal site.
     
    verticity, Jan 30, 2008 IP
  9. bigbluesky2006

    bigbluesky2006 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #9
    Yeah, all the sitemaps I'm having problems with are single page sites. :confused:
     
    bigbluesky2006, Feb 1, 2008 IP
  10. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #10
    As the sitemap parser at Google reads the file, it giving an error on sitemaps with one URL only. In s/w dev, it is not unusual to have problems with 0 or only 1 instances what you are parsing ...

    As I said before:

     
    KVeil, Feb 1, 2008 IP
  11. bigbluesky2006

    bigbluesky2006 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #11
    Adding in a second URL and the error goes away. I now have mydomain.com and mydomain.com/index.html in each sitemap.
     
    bigbluesky2006, Feb 2, 2008 IP
  12. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #12
    That's a smart work-around ... while we are waiting for Google to fix the problem... ;)

    K
     
    KVeil, Feb 3, 2008 IP
  13. RoT

    RoT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #13
    still broken...
     
    RoT, Feb 11, 2008 IP
  14. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #14
    KVeil, Feb 11, 2008 IP
  15. CT SEO

    CT SEO Peon

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    i have used this site as well, and it works good...
     
    CT SEO, Feb 12, 2008 IP
  16. KVeil

    KVeil Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #16
    @CT SEO: the discussion above refers to sitemaps with one URL only...

    K
     
    KVeil, Feb 12, 2008 IP
  17. longroad

    longroad Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #17
    Im having the same problem with sites with more than one page..
     
    longroad, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  18. Sench

    Sench Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    longroad, can you give me the URL of your sitemap file?
     
    Sench, Feb 15, 2008 IP
  19. Jhar

    Jhar Peon

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I having the exact same problem with a 50 page site for the past week or so. Google keeps looking for a Mobile tag which is not required. I was going crazy trying to figure what was wrong on my end becuase when I go through the xml everything looks fine. Hopefully, Google will figure this out soon. The site is http://www.duimc.com
     
    Jhar, Feb 17, 2008 IP
  20. FredRoe

    FredRoe Guest

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I have a few hundred sites in google webmaster, and they all look fine to me.
     
    FredRoe, Feb 17, 2008 IP