1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Site does not validate

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by WhiteGyr, Aug 13, 2004.

  1. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #21
    PM me a login/password for the server the file is on (and a path to the file if it's not in the default folder).

    Also, take out the include in your template file(s) that reference it... that way your users don't see a bunch of debugging crap on your normal web pages. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #22
    Okay, you should be good to go. The reason the echo thing wasn't working in the ad_network.php file, is that it was within a if/then, rather than the end... no biggie though.

    Anyway, the problem was that your file extensions are .htm, so your pages were spitting out the PHP include code in raw form.

    What I did was add this to the end of your .htaccess file:

    AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm
    Code (markup):
    And all is well...
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  3. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #23
    WhiteGyr, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #24
    If it's setup the same with .htm extensions you would.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  5. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #25
    WhiteGyr, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #26
    Ick... just found a bug. The referred by column was defined to be a tiny integer (meaning it couldn't be higher than 127). So your referral was assigned to user 127. Anyway, I fixed it and moved your referral over for you. And now going through the logs to properly move a couple others.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 14, 2004 IP
  7. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #27
    Hi Shawn

    This one is displaying the banner I plan on using but it will not auto validate. Web Page Design

    Here it the .php on the site:

    <?php
    
    	$ad_file = 'ad_network_ads.txt';
    	for ($i = 0; $i <= 11; $i++) {
    		$p = substr ('../../../../../../../../../../', 0, $i * 3);
    		if (file_exists ($p . $ad_file)) {
    			$ad_file = $p . $ad_file;
    			break;
    		}
    	}
    
    	if (is_writable ($ad_file)) {
    		$ads = file_get_contents ($ad_file);
    		$ads = explode ('<ad_break>', $ads);
    	
    		if (count ($ads) < 101 || $ads[0] + 3600 < time()) {
    			$ads[] = file_get_contents ('http://ads.digitalpoint.com/network.php?color=EBF0F4');
    			$ads[0] = time();
    			if (count ($ads) > 101) unset ($ads[1]);
    			$file = fopen($ad_file, 'w');
    			fwrite ($file, implode ('<ad_break>', $ads));
    			fclose ($file);
    			$ad_network = end ($ads);
    		} else {
    			$ad_network = $ads[rand(1,count($ads))];
    		}
    		$ad_network .= '<!-- an-hl -->';
    	} else {
    		$ad_network = 'You must set the "ad_network_ads.txt" file to be writable.';
    	}
    	if (substr ($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_NAME'], -6) == '.shtml') {
    		ini_set ('zlib.output_compression', 0);
    		echo $ad_network;
    	}
    
    ?>
    PHP:
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #28
    I"m not seeing any ad network ads on that page/site...
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  9. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #29
    on the bottom of the page is the banner
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #30
    That banner is not coming from the ad network... I would double check the code you have generating that ad.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  11. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #31
    but the site will not validate -- Account not not yet activated.
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #32
    Right, because it's not from the ad network... :)
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  13. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #33
    sorry about that -- I see what I did now
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 15, 2004 IP
  14. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #34
    Hi Shawn

    Hey I switched hosts with web-design-is.us and their .htaccess file looks like:
    # -FrontPage-
    
    IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*
    
    <Limit GET POST>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from all
    </Limit>
    <Limit PUT DELETE>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    </Limit>
    AuthName www.web-design-is.us
    AuthUserFile /home/webdesig/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
    AuthGroupFile /home/webdesig/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.grp[CODE] 
    when I add this line (AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm
    ) to the bottem of the code the web site will not display
    
    What shall I do?
    Code (markup):
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  15. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #35
    My guess is that they have your site setup to not allow the AddType override. You probably will need to ask them to allow you to do it.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  16. WhiteGyr

    WhiteGyr Grunt

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    121
    #36
    Ok -- I've already asked them why it failed.
     
    WhiteGyr, Aug 16, 2004 IP