1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Shared hosting vs. VPS vs. Dedicated server

Discussion in 'Web Hosting' started by Jeffr2014, Feb 11, 2015.

My commercial website has been hosted at GoDaddy for over 12 years but their service become so bad that I have no choice but to relocate it somewhere.

I am considering hosting on VPS or dedicated server as opposed to shared hosting. I have absolutely no experience with setting up or managing web servers, so my apology in advance if these questions sound stupid to you :)

1. How much effort is involved in setting up web server on VPS or dedicated box? I checked this post "Complete Newbie Guide To Build CentOS Server To Host Websites" but it is hard for me to estimate:
    - what skills I should be looking for when hiring somebody to do this job?
    - how many hours of work this setup (web server, mail server, etc.) is going to take for an experienced developer?
    - what are the current rates for a person with these skills (and fluent English)?

2. Assuming I want the same level of maintenance and security as reputable web hosting can provide, how much regular ongoing maintenance work is involved here?

---------------------

If you can share your experience with switching from shared hosting to VPS or dedicated server, that would be greatly appreciated.