1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Setup For .html/.htm Files Without A Footer File

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by digitalpoint, Dec 1, 2004.

  1. ronmojohny

    ronmojohny Active Member

    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #141
    I want to ad my site to the coop. I know very basic HTML, but this stuff is a bit beyond my skill level. My site is all in html. (maybe 7 pages total) I think I have a page rank of 2. And I found out that it is an Apache server. Would someone offer to help place the code into my site for me? I would never get it to work.
    SEMrush
    Thanks, RonMo
     
    ronmojohny, Jul 30, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. l234244

    l234244 Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #142
    The first page of this topic has all the information you need, do what it says and post any problems you may had.
     
    l234244, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  3. Cyclops

    Cyclops sensei

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #143
    I'm not sure but I think Shawn made some changes to the coop script making the code on the first page of this thread redundant.
     
    Cyclops, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  4. l234244

    l234244 Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #144
    I think one of my sites is using this code and still functioning, better go and check
     
    l234244, Jul 31, 2005 IP
  5. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #145
    Just to give a heads up, it is now a requirement to make the changes to the coop in order to continue working. For those using the coop on htm/html pages with the passthru method and are still using the old code, the new passthru code should be as follows:

    This code applies whether your displaying 1 or 5 ads, it's the same regardless. You specify the no. of ads you want to display in the new ad_network_377.php file.

    In addition to this, just make updates to the new ad_network_377.php file and upload an empty ad_network_377.txt file, and make sure to chmod 666 it.

    Hope that helps.
     
    dcristo, Sep 12, 2005 IP
  6. aquila99

    aquila99 Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #146
    Hello from Italy, I find that the co-op idea is great. I have spent some hours trying to get the codes to work and fixing, to no avail.
    my knowledge is limited to html and some cgi, and I can make changes in the .htaccess, as well as ftp and give server permissions, but I am primarily a content writer and can see that this is possibly out of my reach..I have very little knowledge of php.

    This is the error I use to get:

    Warning: main(ad_network.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /web/htdocs/www.italyworldclub.com/home/passthru.php on line 1

    Warning: main(): Failed opening 'ad_network.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /web/htdocs/www.italyworldclub.com/home/passthru.php on line 1

    Thanks to anyone who can put me in the right direction.
     
    aquila99, Sep 13, 2005 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #147
    Do you have a file named exactly ad_network.php in the same folder as your passthru.php file?
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 13, 2005 IP
  8. aquila99

    aquila99 Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #148
    Yes, the file is there.
    The files I installed as per digital point instructions are:

    ad_network_378.php
    ad_network_ads_378.txt
    passthru.php

    And I made the suggested changes in the .htaccess
    If you think seeing the files can help understanding the problem, I will send them in the form you tell me.
     
    aquila99, Sep 14, 2005 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #149
    ad_network_378.php is not the same file name as ad_network.php.
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 14, 2005 IP
  10. dcristo

    dcristo Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    1,190
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    470
    Articles:
    7
    #150
    Dude, in the passthru code you want to make sure you properly reference the ad_network_378.php file.
     
    dcristo, Sep 14, 2005 IP
  11. daman69xo

    daman69xo Peon

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #151
    Is there a clear cut way to get the coop to work on html or htm pages?

    From the early posts, the codes have evolved. I see some using php

    <?php
    ini_set ("include_path", ini_get ("include_path") . ':../:../../:../../../:../../../../');
    include ('ad_network_xxx.php');
    echo $ad_network;
    ?>

    or

    <!--#include virtual="/ad_network_xxx.php" -->

    in areas where they want the ads to be displayed. I also read that the permission should be set at 755 and then i saw other posts that said it should be at 666.

    Which one is right??
     
    daman69xo, Apr 7, 2006 IP
  12. yipesft

    yipesft Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #152
    Working on getting this set up on my html based site.

    In looking at the error logs, I see:

    [Thu Jun 28 08:31:34 2007] [error] [client 68.127.48.251] mod_rewrite: maximum number of internal redirects reached. Assuming configuration error. Use 'RewriteOptions MaxRedirects' to increase the limit if neccessary.

    Website is currently displaying a 500 internal server error:
    'Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."

    Any thoughts?
     
    yipesft, Jun 28, 2007 IP
  13. thundercow

    thundercow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #153
    Well I am getting an internal configuration error if I set this up the way it is in this thread. And I KNOW my server is configured for mod_rewrite because I successfully installed the mod_rewrite mod to my phpbb installation.

    Any thoughts on why I'd be getting this error?

    Here's my existing .htaccess file, if this illuminates the issue, maybe that xbithack is messing it up.

    # -FrontPage-

    IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*
    XBitHack on

    <Limit GET POST>
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    order allow,deny
    #The next line modified by DenyIP
    #deny from all
    allow from all
    </Limit>
    <Limit PUT DELETE>
    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    </Limit>
    AuthName www.learnaboutlaw.com
    AuthUserFile /home/ll34rn/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
    AuthGroupFile /home/ll34rn/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.grp

    <Files 403.shtml>
    order allow,deny
    allow from all
    </Files>
     
    thundercow, Mar 10, 2008 IP
  14. notebook murah

    notebook murah Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #154
    hi all,.. i hope somebody ,give us explanation step by step ,how to set up ads network coop if the server host not support this ads network(must add configuration in some file like htaccess)
    coz i still on htaccess stuck :(
     
    notebook murah, Nov 16, 2008 IP